Board index Do you need a BIOS update? My hard drive isn't recognized Hard Drive Capacity Issue

Hard Drive Capacity Issue

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
Post Sat Jun 23, 2007 11:08 pm
artistwantab New visitors - please read the rules.
Recommended by Wim's BIOS... BIOS Agent scan: Upgrade your BIOS! DriverMax is the number one driver updater for Windows 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7, Vista or XP

Post Sat Jun 23, 2007 11:08 pm
artistwantab New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 6
I have bios GB85010A.86A.0060.p18 which is the latest bios upgrade intel offers but it doesn't resolve my HD capacity issue.

I just purchased a 400GB hard drive to use as additional storage. Xp is running on a 20gb HD.

The problem is that it only says the new HD is 33+ gb?

What are my options to resolve this issue.


Post Sun Jun 24, 2007 12:52 am
artistwantab New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 6
More info...hope this helps

BIOS Date: 10/08/01
BIOS Type: American Megatrends licensed to Intel
BIOS ID: 51-2300-000000-00101111-030199--GB850
OEM Sign-On:
Chipset: Intel 2530 rev 2
Superio: SMC LPC47M10x rev 1 found at port 2Eh
OS: WinXP SP2
CPU: Pentium(R) 4 1400 Mhz MAX: 1400 Mhz

Post Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:08 am
cp BIOS Guru

Posts: 1914
Location: Germany
The problem is that it only says the new HD is 33+ gb?


who is 'it'?
did you already partition and format the drive? what's the size of the drive shown in windows?

resources for your board at intel:
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/filter_ ... bmit=Go%21

Post Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:54 pm
artistwantab New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 6
The hard Drive is made by Seagate and should be about 400GB.

Yes I did Format and Partition but the HD only reads a little over 33 G.B.

Post Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:23 pm
cp BIOS Guru

Posts: 1914
Location: Germany
is the HDD detected in the bios correctly? did you check the jumpers on the hdd for size limitation? what size does windows xp detect? did you install the intel southbridge drivers?

Post Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:31 pm
artistwantab New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 6
cp wrote:
is the HDD detected in the bios correctly?


What do you mean by correctly? Do you mean does the bios see the HD and the answer is yes.

cp wrote:
did you check the jumpers on the hdd for size limitation?


The way I understand the manual is that you only use the jumper if the computer freezes on start-up. Should I try this?

cp wrote:
what size does windows xp detect?


33816MB

cp wrote:
did you install the intel southbridge drivers?


I googled it and couldn't find a download link. Do you have a link?

Thank you so much.

Post Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:26 pm
Denniss BIOS Guru

Posts: 3138
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany

How does the bios detect your drive ?
Does it only show 32GB too or does it show more ?

It is possible the HDD capacity limitation jumper is set as factory default, please remove it to check what your bios does now.

Post Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:19 pm
artistwantab New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 6
>How does the bios detect your drive ?
Does it only show 32GB too or does it show more ?

Maybe, I can'[t find it but my bios doesn't specify the HD size. It does have the correct model number.

>It is possible the HDD capacity limitation jumper is set as factory default, please remove it to check what your bios does now.

I tried three separate settings for the jumper setting...Factory default, capacity limitation jumper setting, and no jumper.

Each setting resulted in the same thing.

Should the partition be Fat32 or NTFS...I tried both and it didn't change anything...

Post Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:37 pm
artistwantab New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 6
Anyone?

What are my other options is Bio Upgrades and Jumpers don't work?

Post Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:09 pm
cp BIOS Guru

Posts: 1914
Location: Germany
look, Windows XP SP2 comes with build in LBA48 support, so it does supports drives upto 144 PETAbyte out of the box EVEN THOUGH the bios wouldn't.
So as you didn't specify any harddrive model (except the maker Seagate) i assumed one. Please set your drive's jumper to master or slave and do NOT jumper "Limit drive capacity".
This picture might help:
http://www.seagate.com/images/support/e ... mily_1.gif

Now, if you've applied the correct jumper setting enter the bios, hit the drive auto-detection button and choose LBA as adressing scheme. Boot Windows and check the size of the drive. It may be necessary to remove any old partitions or reformat the drive.

Recommended tools for finding BIOS Updates... BIOS Agent scan: Upgrade your BIOS! DriverMax finds the latest driver versions needed for your PC and downloads them.

Return to My hard drive isn't recognized

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post