Board index Do you have a BIOS problem? Notebook BIOS and other problems travelmate 732 TE - cpu upgrade

travelmate 732 TE - cpu upgrade

Don't ask how to hack password. (BIOS Passwords)
Post Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:28 pm
EOF New visitors - please read the rules.
Recommended by Wim's BIOS... BIOS Agent scan: Upgrade your BIOS! DriverMax is the number one driver updater for Windows 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7, Vista or XP

Post Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:28 pm
EOF New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 9
hi all,
i've a TM 732 TE originally equipped with a pIII 500.recently i've
bought and mounted a pIII 1000(sl53s).the problem is that it only works
@700Mhz.if i try to set the "maximum performance" mode into the bios or
into the w2k applet, the notebook freezes and i've to reboot by the
power button.
a guy in germany had it working
@1000(http://www.nickles.de/c/a/forum2-537647521.htm) but i don't know
how to contact him.
does anyone know if it's possible to have it working @1000 and how this
is possible?
any idea will be appreciate
ty
Ale


p.s.: sorry for my poor english


Post Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:29 pm
Sharedoc Notebook Genius

Posts: 679
Location: Finland
1.Check if you have the newest bios installed

ftp://ftp.acer-euro.com/notebook/TravelMate_73X/BIOS/


2. Try contacting the german guy using the messageboard

Post Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:37 pm
EOF New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 9
first of all ty for the answer sharedoc.

1) yes i've installed the latest bios

2) i don't know a deutch word so i don't know how to sign up in that forum

do you think i can use the deepsleep app by wmarcusm to force the maximum performance(1000 mhz)?

Post Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:01 pm
Sharedoc Notebook Genius

Posts: 679
Location: Finland
Yes, I think you use hardware mod for selecting the processor higher speed and then use DeepSleep utility to switch it on.

Post Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:13 pm
EOF New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 9
here's the problem.the cpu is a micro-pga2 and your mod is for the mmc2.
is there a mod for the mico-pga2 cpu?
right now i'm looking for a software solution for selecting the higher speed...i really hope to find something in the intel datasheet.
it really piss me off having a 1ghz running @700 :x
hope you can help in some way.

ty

Post Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:45 pm
Sharedoc Notebook Genius

Posts: 679
Location: Finland
Well, you can always overclock the processor. You need to study the clock generator if it can be switched to a higher fsb speed. Try Softfsb.

Post Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:35 pm
EOF New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 9
from "intel processor spec finder":

sl53s(1GHz) sl3dw(500MHz)
vcore 1.7V 1.6V

could be this the problem?
how can i investigate about it?

Ale

Post Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:50 pm
EOF New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 9
don't think it's a vcore problem.
using crystaldmi i've had some new informations:

04-processor information:
...
External Clock: 100 MHz
Max Speed: 800 MHz
Current Speed: 1000 MHz
...

is it possible that the max speed allowed,into the bios, is fixed to 800MHz?
thinking: the cpu can't run @1GHz(maximum performance) because of the 800MHz limit and it can only run @700MHz(battery optimized performance).

now the next step is changing the 800MHz limit into the bios:
is it possible?!?

some advice?
bye
Ale

Post Tue Sep 20, 2005 11:00 pm
Sharedoc Notebook Genius

Posts: 679
Location: Finland
Propably you need to do a hardware modification at processor #GHI or HILO- pin (not sure remeberthe pin right) to enable higher speed and the run DeepSleep utility.

Post Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:53 pm
EOF New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 9
latest news:
i've bought and mounted a 800mhz processor but it works @650mhz...now i really don't know what to do.
hi sharedoc...how can i find the #ghi pin?
the processors are mpga2
ty

Post Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:59 pm
Sharedoc Notebook Genius

Posts: 679
Location: Finland

Post Mon Oct 03, 2005 8:42 pm
EOF New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 9
ty sharedoc,
i'm sorry if i'm going to annoy you but i really don't know how to modify the pin.can you help me doing that?
ty

Post Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:43 am
Sharedoc Notebook Genius

Posts: 679
Location: Finland
OK, I'll give you instructions. Hope you can follow them. You may need somebody with electronics skill and equipment to help you.

You need to remove the processor from the socket, find that R2 pin from the socket (You can use the processor pinout picture on page 55 to determine position of the pin).

You need a 10 cm thin wire (wire-wrap wire) and a 1kohm resistor. Connect the wire to the pin R2 hole in the socket. Put the processor to the socket. Then connects the the other end of the wire to 1kohm resistor. Then connect the other end of the 1kohm resistor to 0V. You can find 0V on -end of electrolytic capacitors.

Then boot. Install DeepSleep utility. reboot. Run DeepSleep. Now you should have higher speed.

Pls report how it goes.

Post Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:03 pm
EOF New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 9
ty for the help.i have to find someone who can help me cause it sounds a little bit difficul for my poor electronic skills.anyway i'll let you know when i'm done
ty again

Post Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:45 pm
EOF New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 9
hi sharedoc,
i'm still searching for the one who can help me.
anyway while reading the doc you sent me i've found something that could help me.
at page 55 in the note 2 it says:
For any of the following conditions, the pin/ball P1 must be connected to Vcc:
• All processors with a nominal core operating voltage less than 1.35V or greater than 1.60V
• All processors based on any new steppings following C-step
For all other processors based on A2/B0/C0 stepping, the pin/ball P1 can be connected to either Vcc or Vcct.
:idea:
the piii 500, originally mounted, is based on stepping PA2, while the 800 and the 1000 processors are based on stepping PD0.
if the pin p1 is connected to vcct, maybe, i can't use higher speed on the 800 and 1000 processors.what do you think?
bye

Recommended tools for finding BIOS Updates... BIOS Agent scan: Upgrade your BIOS! DriverMax finds the latest driver versions needed for your PC and downloads them.
Next

Return to Notebook BIOS and other problems

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post