Board index Do you need a BIOS update? Other BIOS update issues. Problem flashing!!! my bios ;)

Problem flashing!!! my bios ;)

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.

.

Post Fri Dec 12, 2003 5:47 pm
Jason132 BIOS Newbie
Recommended by Wim's BIOS... BIOS Agent scan: Upgrade your BIOS! DriverMax is the number one driver updater for Windows 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7, Vista or XP

.

Post Fri Dec 12, 2003 5:47 pm
Jason132 BIOS Newbie

Posts: 23
hmm took a look and im starting to think it might be easier just to buy a new computer.

i can only upgrade to a 1GHz processor and that kinda sux.



BTW does any one know where i can buy just the tower and no monitor etc?

^^ by this i mean a tower including all the components mobo Ram Processor and so on ...^^
I'm a newb at overclocking so expect some dumb comments ;)


.

Post Fri Dec 12, 2003 6:10 pm
Jason132 BIOS Newbie

Posts: 23
Right this isnt bios stuff but i just wanted to check all this would be compatible with each other:

Thermaltake Memory Cooling Kit


Gigabyte SoA AMD 761/VIA ATX A

Cooler Master SoA XP 3200+

Crucial Technology 512MB 184Pin DIMM PC2700 DDR RAM Non-Parity CL2.5

AMD AthlonXP 2400+ 2Ghz SoA Box


If anyone could help me out on this i'd be really gratefull THX :D :wink: :D


btw i think all this comes to around £170 <------- Is this a decent price or am i being ripped off ?
I'm a newb at overclocking so expect some dumb comments ;)

.

Post Sun Dec 14, 2003 9:07 pm
Jason132 BIOS Newbie

Posts: 23
could someone plz reply








THX
I'm a newb at overclocking so expect some dumb comments ;)

Post Mon Dec 15, 2003 4:23 pm
NickS BIOS Bodhisattva

Posts: 3145
Location: Thames Valley, UK
Jason132 wrote:
Gigabyte SoA AMD 761/VIA ATX A
Got a model no. on that ?
Cooler Master SoA XP 3200+
Got a part no. on that ?
AMD AthlonXP 2400+ 2Ghz SoA Box
Got a part no. on that ?
If you're being sold it all as a bundle that should work together, it should work together.
btw i think all this comes to around £170 <------- Is this a decent price or am i being ripped off ?
If this is just for parts I would:
1. Question why the Thermaltake memory cooling kit unless you're planning to overvolt/overclock the RAM
2. compare prices at places like tekheads, ebuyer, aria, komplett and anyone who gets a good review at romulus2
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"

.

Post Mon Dec 15, 2003 6:52 pm
Jason132 BIOS Newbie

Posts: 23
not sure about that but im not gonna get the thermal intakes as im not gonna overclock the RAM


I am however gonna overclock my AMD thats y im gettin a 3.2 cooler

btw will i be able to use my current SDRAM on the new mobo
I'm a newb at overclocking so expect some dumb comments ;)

Post Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:09 pm
sulbert Master Flasher

Posts: 204

Jason132 wrote:
btw will i be able to use my current SDRAM on the new mobo


No.

Comment concerning the motherboard:

AMD761 is a rather old chipset already. If I would be buying a new motherboard, I'd be looking for something like nVidia nForce2 Ultra400 or VIA KT600 or maybe some newer SiS chipset (with all the new features like USB 2.0 and Serial ATA and 200 MHz FSB and so on). And I definitely won't buy a Gigabyte board since I don't like soldered BIOS chips.

.

Post Mon Dec 15, 2003 9:42 pm
Jason132 BIOS Newbie

Posts: 23
hmm so wot would u recommend ?


bearing in mind i hav upto £60 to spend on a mobo
I'm a newb at overclocking so expect some dumb comments ;)

.

Post Tue Dec 16, 2003 10:12 am
Jason132 BIOS Newbie

Posts: 23
oh yeah and btw i want to get a processor that can be overclocked


so intel AMD im not too fussed but i do only want a 2GHz processor
I'm a newb at overclocking so expect some dumb comments ;)

Post Tue Dec 16, 2003 11:44 am
Denniss BIOS Guru

Posts: 3140
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany

Suggestion :
Asrock K7S8X-E Rev 3.x or K7S8X-E+ 200MHz FSB + SATA
Duron 1600/1800 or XP2000 or higher (maybe XP2500+)
256 or 512MB PC-400/3200 branded RAM

Duron is 133MHz FSB but with a CPU based on T-Bred"B" Core 166MHz should be possible - same with XP2500+ designed to run with 166MHz but nearly all do 200MHz

.

Post Tue Dec 16, 2003 5:51 pm
Jason132 BIOS Newbie

Posts: 23
k i'll take a look to how much that would come to cos im kinda on a budget
I'm a newb at overclocking so expect some dumb comments ;)

.

Post Tue Dec 16, 2003 6:14 pm
Jason132 BIOS Newbie

Posts: 23
k i got it sorted now

AsRock Inc. SoA VIA KM400 MATX A V L

AMD Duron 1.8Ghz Socket A 266FSB

60Gb HDD 7200rpm

512DDR PC2100


THis is wot im gonna get if all is ok with cimbatablity and goodness
I'm a newb at overclocking so expect some dumb comments ;)

Post Tue Dec 16, 2003 11:46 pm
Denniss BIOS Guru

Posts: 3140
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany

Hmmm - slow OnBoard VGA .
Get faster RAM as your OnBoard VGA needs RAM bandwith !!
Branded PC-333/2700 as miminum but better PC-400/3200

If you don't want OnBoard VGA better get the suggested K7S8X-E or the "E+" - both of them faster than the VIA board

.

Post Wed Dec 17, 2003 1:01 am
Jason132 BIOS Newbie

Posts: 23
k i understand the RAM sped now but i had problems finding those mobos could u give me a link that can deliver to the UK

thx
I'm a newb at overclocking so expect some dumb comments ;)

Post Wed Dec 17, 2003 3:45 am
Denniss BIOS Guru

Posts: 3140
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany


.

Post Wed Dec 17, 2003 10:19 am
Jason132 BIOS Newbie

Posts: 23
ahh k thx its aroun £40 like i was aiming for + its a new chipset thx again

Pretty sure thats everything thx for all your help.


BYE :D
I'm a newb at overclocking so expect some dumb comments ;)

Recommended tools for finding BIOS Updates... BIOS Agent scan: Upgrade your BIOS! DriverMax finds the latest driver versions needed for your PC and downloads them.
Previous

Return to Other BIOS update issues.

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post