Board index Do you have a BIOS problem? RAM compatibility with BIOS M571 V3.2A +RAM PC133

M571 V3.2A +RAM PC133

Is your memory not fully recognized? (Intel VX chipset Memory recognition)
Post Sat Apr 19, 2003 1:29 am
muhon_zen New visitors - please read the rules.
Recommended by Wim's BIOS... BIOS Agent scan: Upgrade your BIOS! DriverMax is the number one driver updater for Windows 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7, Vista or XP

Post Sat Apr 19, 2003 1:29 am
muhon_zen New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 2
I have a TXPRO II (PC Chips). Model: M571 V.3.2A. I would like to know if my board supports PC133 RAM Memmory. I am already using PC100.


Post Sat Apr 19, 2003 3:16 am
Denniss BIOS Guru

Posts: 3138
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany

The M571 supports all SDRAM speedgrades but it's limited to 128MB sticks
The only working 128MB sticks are double sided ones with 16 memory chips
It might be possible that higher capacity sticks are working but with capacity cut in half or quartered

Post Sat Apr 19, 2003 10:10 pm
apple_rom Use my patch at your own risk!!

Posts: 125
Location: Minsk

About memory. SiS5597 (TXpro II) support 64Mbit-technology -> means can run with memory up to 256Mb/16chips (doubleside), 128Mb/8chips (singleside) etc.

Post Mon Apr 21, 2003 6:42 pm
rmay635703 Chip off the ol' block

Posts: 67
Yep ditto on the speedgrades but

apple_roms assumption that 256mb 16chip "low density" dimms work on the m571 isn't entirely correct. The latest m571 bios has major issues with timing on large dimms 128mb+ and usually won't post with a 256mb 16chip low density dimm. (I have tried 12 different brand 256mb low density dimms that all work properly in an intel TX system but fail on the m571, others have tried and failed on the lottery as well)

The work around I have found (if you don't mind using an old cyrix chip and a HD overlay) is to use the old m567 bios on the m571 as it correctly supports large SDRAM dimms without being extremely picky or unstable.

This issue as been beaten to death on the lottery by the way.

Apple_roms would you be willing to take the m567 bios and see what routines it uses for ram handling? Maybe you could overlay parts of the new m571 bios so the old one so you could get a bios that would both support large dimms and k6-2's with bigger hds as opposed to lots of ram but slow cpus or fast cpus but less ram.

Cheers
Ryan

Post Mon Apr 21, 2003 7:31 pm
Rainbow The UniFlasher

Posts: 3122
Location: Slovakia

I had M571LMR board. With 64MB module (8 chips), it ran fine. However with 128MB module (8 chips), it counted 128MB and hanged there. Nasty BIOS bug. I sold it together with the 64MB module.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere

Post Mon Apr 21, 2003 10:41 pm
apple_rom Use my patch at your own risk!!

Posts: 125
Location: Minsk

Apple_roms would you be willing to take the m567 bios and see what routines it uses for ram handling? Maybe you could overlay parts of the new m571 bios so the old one so you could get a bios that would both support large dimms and k6-2's with bigger hds as opposed to lots of ram but slow cpus or fast cpus but less ram.

I can to do this with Award (i was try and all fine work with like problem for VIA VPX), but can`t with AMI (at this time). But you can sent to me (k6-2@narod.ru) bioses from M571/M567 - i will try...

Recommended tools for finding BIOS Updates... BIOS Agent scan: Upgrade your BIOS! DriverMax finds the latest driver versions needed for your PC and downloads them.

Return to RAM compatibility with BIOS

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post