Board index Do you need a BIOS update? Video (VGA) and other BIOS/Firmware 1024X768 doesn't works with my sis530 driver.

1024X768 doesn't works with my sis530 driver.

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
Arminius New visitors - please read the rules.
Recommended by Wim's BIOS... BIOS Agent scan: Upgrade your BIOS! DriverMax is the number one driver updater for Windows 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7, Vista or XP

Arminius New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 10
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

I can't get my sis530 video adapter to change resolution to 1024X768.I tried to change monitors, but nothing changed.i used 1024X768 with my sis 5595/5598, but i don't have it anymore.





do i have to do anything in the bioS?
arminius

Sempron 2300Mhz
256MB RAM, 64MB video onboard


Post Sun Jul 03, 2005 2:20 pm
KachiWachi The New Guy

Posts: 1446
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
OS, and what video options are available?

Post Mon Jul 04, 2005 9:40 pm
Arminius New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 10
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

Windows 98 SE
the video options are:640X480,800X600(which i currently use), 1024X768(i want to use this one, but the screen gets all screwed),1280X1024 and 1600X1200(i never could use these two anyway)/,16 colors,256 colors,16 bit color(high color) and 32 bit color(true color)(which i currently use)
arminius

Sempron 2300Mhz
256MB RAM, 64MB video onboard

Post Mon Jul 04, 2005 9:53 pm
ajzchips El cheapo dude

Posts: 3048
Location: Madrid, Spain
Looks more like a refresh rate issue.

Post Mon Jul 04, 2005 11:07 pm
Arminius New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 10
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

how can i change the refresh rate?
which would be the ideal value(if ther is any for it) for it?
I got to use the BIOS setup?
arminius

Sempron 2300Mhz
256MB RAM, 64MB video onboard

Post Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:51 pm
KachiWachi The New Guy

Posts: 1446
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Does the Device Manager display the correct Monitor in use? Is the Video Adapter set to "Optimal" in the Advanced Settings?

I agree...refresh rate issue...not BIOS issue.

Post Thu Jul 07, 2005 4:39 pm
Arminius New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 10
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

the video adapter is set to optimal but in the device manager my monitor is set to unknown monitor or something like that.but i'm pretty sure that this problem doesn't have anything to do with my monitor, because i used 1024X768 with my old computer years ago and i had no problems.


Please, could anyone explain me how this refresh rate works and tell me how can i change it?
arminius

Sempron 2300Mhz
256MB RAM, 64MB video onboard

Post Thu Jul 07, 2005 5:51 pm
Arminius New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 10
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

oh, i used the monitor that i use today with my old computer and my old computer had no problems with 1024X768 resolution.The driver was still unknown monitor
arminius

Sempron 2300Mhz
256MB RAM, 64MB video onboard

Post Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:41 am
ajzchips El cheapo dude

Posts: 3048
Location: Madrid, Spain
Update the monitor driver to any generic 1024x768 one.

Post Fri Jul 08, 2005 2:36 pm
KachiWachi The New Guy

Posts: 1446
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
What monitor model, and is it DDC? See if the monitor manufacturer has a custom INF for it...if not, AJZ's suggestion should work just fine.

Post Sun Jul 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Arminius New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 10
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

the model of the monitor is unknown even to me, since it is an Elebra monitor, and Elebra is a manufacturer of Brazil that probably doesn't work anymore with monitors.so there is no chance that i can get an inf file from them.this monitor is really old.I tried ajz solution, but i keep changing refresh rates and it just got worse.i had these options:adapter's standard, optimized, 56hz,60hz,72hz,75hz.72hz and 75hz didn't worked with 800X600, so i couldn't change resolutions, and i think it would be useless.do you think that i should change this monitor to solve the problem?
arminius

Sempron 2300Mhz
256MB RAM, 64MB video onboard

Post Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:28 pm
Denniss BIOS Guru

Posts: 3138
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany

Maybe your monitor is only capable of doing 1024 with 60Hz and the driver tries to use a higher frequency. Try to use Laptop 1024 monitor instead of standard 1024 monitor - maybe this forces 60Hz on 1024 resolution

Post Mon Jul 18, 2005 3:15 pm
KachiWachi The New Guy

Posts: 1446
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
There should be some sort of tag on the back with information on it, such as a model number, etc... Does the monitor cable have all 15 pin positions filled with a pin?

If you change resolutions a lot, then AJZ's solution may not work unless you adjust the refresh rate to match as well.

Post Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:41 pm
ajzchips El cheapo dude

Posts: 3048
Location: Madrid, Spain
If the monitor's old, the 1024x768 mode might refresh at the archaic 87i Hz mode.

Post Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:26 am
Arminius New visitors - please read the rules.

Posts: 10
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

I found this information in the monitor's back:
CM14SBS
100-125/200-240V
50/60 Hz

I tried laptop monitor suggestion, but it didn't worked.The monitor cable has all pins in the right position.
If my monitor works with 87i Hz rate, what can I do to fix the problem?

I would like to thank everyone for your help, i really need it
arminius

Sempron 2300Mhz
256MB RAM, 64MB video onboard

Recommended tools for finding BIOS Updates... BIOS Agent scan: Upgrade your BIOS! DriverMax finds the latest driver versions needed for your PC and downloads them.
Next

Return to Video (VGA) and other BIOS/Firmware

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post