Celeron Tualatin->Mendocino

Don't ask how to over-clock.
Locked
nightmare
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 9:22 am

Hello.

I was wondering if there was possible to modify the bios so that it recognises my Celeron Tualtin as Celeron Mendocino , and doing so changing the voltage that it sends to the processor (1.7V instead of 1.5V).

Thank You.
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

The CPU voltage is not determined by BIOS but by the pins of the CPU.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
nightmare
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 9:22 am

I want to modify the CPU microcode from within the bios and modify the voltage sent to Tualatin Celeron Processor.

Can someone tell me what program can I use to do that?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Not going to work unless the hardware on your board can handle that lower voltage, if not you will have to use some sort of adapter as sold by powerleap and similar companies. You have checked the manufacturer website for the latest bios already?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
nightmare
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 9:22 am

My motherboard supports 1.75V because it sees mendochino CPUs tht require that voltage , and also supports Tualatin processors.

What I want to do is make the bios send 1.7V instead of 1.5V to a Tualatin Celeron(for overclocking purposes).
soupy
Absentee administrator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:06 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

See http://www.hardocp.com for overclocking.
Flash your BIOS at your own risk.
Locked