problems with 300gl

Don't ask how to over-clock.
500r420
New visitors - please read the rules.

I purchased a motherboard to fix an old computer. I tried to install a pentium 3 coppermine 600 but no response
(hard drive spins, no beep, fans power)
it did work with one of 4 p3 katmai 500s but required a bios update in order to pass the bios setup
I created a bootable disk with an ibm program which autmoatically executed in the bios setup because of an ibm software (update to v31a)
the flash program loaded but gave me a error "Not enough memory"
there is 256mb pc100 (i think) installed, 20gb hd, radeon 7500 agp
there are two switchboard labeled sw1 and sw2, the first with 4 and the second with 8 switches, all set to off
it is a slot 1 motherboard (possibly micro atx) FRU 61H22470
can anyone help get the coppermine to work with the motherboard?
or at least the bios update to work?
I am relatively new to working with computers so I may not be familiar with some terms you might use in your response.
Thanks!
David
stephan_g
BIOS Newbie

This very much smells like the motherboard cannot provide low enough core voltages (less than 1.8 V), so CuMines would only work with slight overvoltage on a slot adapter providing voltage adjustments.

As for the out of memory message, this was probably referring to conventional (DOS) memory (I assume the flash program is DOS based). I assume the boot disk (it came as a complete image that was written to an empty floppy, right?) uses some version of PC DOS, so one would need to improve memory use there (but do NOT in any case use memory managers like EMM386 that put the CPU in V86 mode, low-level stuff like BIOS flashers usually requires plain real mode). Still, one would think that these disks should have been tested.
Occasionally an out of memory error can also be triggered by things like an unrecognized flash rom or other stuff going wrong.