Asus P2B-DS

Only for programmers and BIOS gurus with technical questions.
poptart629
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 6:39 am
Location: Washington State
Contact:

Hi All,

I have an Asus P2b-DS (Dual CPU, Onboard SCSI) That I got from a moron who doesnt know computers well.

My Problem is that the moron thought that the bios was bad because he couldnt get it to post. As a result he went to eSupport.com and ordered a replacement bios chip. the board works well except that the chip he got was for the P2B-D not the DS and so the onboard scsi controller doesnt work. I tried to flash it with the correct bios from asus' website but I got an error " unable to reach source hook"?? or somthing like this.

All I want to do is flash it with some kind of bios that will allow me to use the scsi controller. any help would be apprieceated

Thanks,
PopTart629
Trust In The Hammer Brothers....

Air,
Jack, &
Sledge......
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Are you using ASUS' flasher, or a standard AWARD flasher?
poptart629
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 6:39 am
Location: Washington State
Contact:

Tried them both, got the same msg on each one
Trust In The Hammer Brothers....

Air,
Jack, &
Sledge......
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Try using UniFlash.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
poptart629
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 6:39 am
Location: Washington State
Contact:

I Thought about that. What I was wondering is weather Uniflash, or some other program, will "force" the system to flash regardless??

BTW Thanks for alll your replys

PopTart629
Trust In The Hammer Brothers....

Air,
Jack, &
Sledge......
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

UniFlash should work. If there's Atmel AT49F002(N)T chip (UniFlash will detect it), be careful. I had reports that it does not work properly.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
poptart629
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 6:39 am
Location: Washington State
Contact:

Ok I tried Uniflash, even tried hot flashing with another chip. I still get the message "Cant Find System BIOS Hook" first of all what is a bios hook? then, how do I get around it besides buying another chip?

Thanks
Trust In The Hammer Brothers....

Air,
Jack, &
Sledge......
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

UniFlash does not have any error message like that :?
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Yep. I've only seen that message with the ASUS flashers...
poptart629
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 6:39 am
Location: Washington State
Contact:

Well, I'm here to tell you, thats the message I got(=>
Trust In The Hammer Brothers....

Air,
Jack, &
Sledge......
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Somehow I think that is not a clean boot floppy you start from. Get one at http://www.bootdisk.com
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
poptart629
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 6:39 am
Location: Washington State
Contact:

It's a boot disk w/ Command.com, IO.sys, & MSDOS.sys. They dont get much cleaner than that me thinks.....besides It does it regardless of how I boot :?
Trust In The Hammer Brothers....

Air,
Jack, &
Sledge......
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

BIOS chip in socket ? I suggest you take it to your friendly local flasher. Or hot-flash it.
poptart629
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 6:39 am
Location: Washington State
Contact:

Please see first post where it says that the board boots & works fine except the function of the scsi controller.
Trust In The Hammer Brothers....

Air,
Jack, &
Sledge......
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Does he still have the old flashrom ?

Then he should try to reflash te old flashrom using the Hot-Swap method and use Uniflash to to get the Asus-Bios in this chip

Missing Bios hook does only appear if using Asus Flashprog Aflash on non-Asus Boards or Asus boards with non-Asus Bios
Post Reply