BIOS Modification - DFI 586IPVG, Cyrix MII 433, K6-2/+ 450

Only for programmers and BIOS gurus with technical questions.
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Thu Oct 24, 2002 2:00 am

Hi All !!

:idea: Both Jan and I had the same thought today... try disabling the caches and see what happens. :idea:

With the internal cache disabled, I was able to bring up the system to DOS mode.

YIPPIE!! :D

So I ran some limited tests, and forwarded the information to Jan.

When I ran CTCM7 (oops...sorry Jan...told you it was CacheChk), I was able to enable the L1 using the /L1=on command, and was sucessful in testing with the L1 enabled.

So we do have some success...will post more when I know more.

YIPPIE!! :D
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Wed Nov 06, 2002 7:42 am

Just an update...

While Jan is mulling over some fresh data to fix the L1 in the BIOS Patch, I have used CacheCTL to enable the L1 on the AMD, and was successful at booting with all 3 caches enabled!! :D

However, I'm not sure of the correct code(s) to place after CacheCTL, since there is little documentation on it in the package I downloaded. Thoughts...??? :?:

The machine does feel zippier at 266MHz, and after a short burn-in at this speed, I will make the jump to 6X and see what this baby can really do... :D


CACHECHK V7 11/23/98 Copyright (c) 1995-98 by Ray Van Tassle. (-h for help)
CMOS reports: conv_mem= 640K, ext_mem= 65,472K, Total RAM= 66,112K
BIOS reports: ext_mem= 130,048K Total mem: 128 MB
"AuthenticAMD" AMD-K6(tm)-III Processor Clocked at 266.0 MHz (edit: 66MHz x4, and really a K6-2+)

Reading from memory.
MegaByte#: --------- Memory Access Block sizes (KB)-----
1 2 4 8 16 32 64 128 256 512 1024 2048 4096 <-- KB
0: 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.5 1.5 3.2 3.2 -- -- -- us/KB
1: 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.5 1.5 3.2 3.2 7.0 7.0 7.0 us/KB
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 <--- same as above.
19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 <--- same as above.
36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 <--- same as above.
53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 <--- same as above.
64: 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.5 1.5 7.0 7.0 -- -- -- us/KB

Extra tests----
Wrt 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.8 1.8 7.6 7.6 15.7 15.7 15.7<-Writing

This machine seems to have 3 caches! [reading] (This can't be right.)
L1 cache is 32KB--1106.6 MB/s 0.9 ns/byte (707%)
L2 cache is 128KB-- 741.0 MB/s 1.4 ns/byte (473%)
L3 cache is 512KB-- 341.4 MB/s 3.1 ns/byte (218%)
Main memory speed -- 156.5 MB/s 6.7 ns/byte (100%) [reading] 6.8 clks
Effective RAM access time (read ) is 53ns (a RAM bank is 8 bytes wide).
Effective RAM access time (write) is 120ns (a RAM bank is 8 bytes wide).

"AuthenticAMD" AMD-K6(tm)-III Processor Clocked at 266.0 MHz. Cache ENABLED.
Options: -t0
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Sat Nov 09, 2002 12:04 am

Made the jump to 6X today... Let the testing begin!!

CACHECHK V7 11/23/98 Copyright (c) 1995-98 by Ray Van Tassle. (-h for help)
CMOS reports: conv_mem= 640K, ext_mem= 65,472K, Total RAM= 66,112K
BIOS reports: ext_mem= 130,048K Total mem: 128 MB
"AuthenticAMD" AMD-K6(tm)-III Processor Clocked at 399.7 MHz (edit: 66MHz x6, and really a K6-2+)

Reading from memory.
MegaByte#: --------- Memory Access Block sizes (KB)-----
1 2 4 8 16 32 64 128 256 512 1024 2048 4096 <-- KB
0: 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.7 1.0 1.0 3.0 3.0 -- -- -- us/KB
1: 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.7 1.0 1.0 3.0 3.0 7.0 7.0 7.0 us/KB
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 <--- same as above.
19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 <--- same as above.
36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 <--- same as above.
53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 <--- same as above.
64: 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.7 1.0 1.0 7.0 7.0 -- -- -- us/KB

Extra tests----
Wrt 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.7 1.2 1.2 6.8 6.8 15.7 15.7 15.7<-Writing

This machine seems to have 3 caches! [reading] (This can't be right.)
L1 cache is 32KB--1660.0 MB/s 0.6 ns/byte (1061%)
L2 cache is 128KB--1109.2 MB/s 0.9 ns/byte (709%)
L3 cache is 512KB-- 369.9 MB/s 2.8 ns/byte (236%)
Main memory speed -- 156.4 MB/s 6.7 ns/byte (100%) [reading] 10.2 clks
Effective RAM access time (read ) is 53ns (a RAM bank is 8 bytes wide).
Effective RAM access time (write) is 120ns (a RAM bank is 8 bytes wide).

"AuthenticAMD" AMD-K6(tm)-III Processor Clocked at 399.7 MHz. Cache ENABLED.

Options: -t0
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Mon Jan 13, 2003 6:37 pm

Just an update for you all...

I have added an Adaptec DuoConnect USB/FireWire card to clean up some outstanding USB issues I have had with the i430VX's USB. Now my Logitech Web Camera stays on solid and doesn't trip off like it had been doing to this point. I was going to try a powered hub first, to see if it was a power issue, but the card was 50% off, so I couldn't pass up the deal. (The camera reports that it wants the full 500mA the port can supply, and I thought it might have actually been using more than that, and tripping the soft fuse in the chip.) Now I have USB1.1, USB2.0, and the FireWire-1394 for future project upgrades!! The card installed without a hitch, but uses 2 IRQ's (11 and 12) for the controllers and shares them amongst it's hubs (5 of them!!). Mainboard USB has been turned off.

Things are going OK in that we are still looking for the full BIOS patch on the caches, and I'm only experiencing some shutdown issues and PM issues where my monitor won't awaken from sleep. Otherwise it has been happy sailing...
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Mon Jan 13, 2003 6:43 pm

Well, I have some bad NEWS to report. :(

As I said before in the last post, I have been having shutdown problems with the AMD installed, and with the PM awakining the monitor. Usually when rebooting, 3 files would be reported as being corrupted...my Autoexec.bat, DOSStart.bat, and AZTPNP.cfg, which sets up my sound card for DOS ('tis an older Aztech SC16-3D ISA card). At shutdown, the card's configuration is rewritten to the 3 files by its utility (PnPcheck.exe). I think that for some reason, it isn't completing its operation, perhaps because the caches are being flushed (improperly??) before the write operation is completed (since we are still experimenting here anyway). The trouble is minor in that they are simple text files, and I can edit them easily to fix them, so it was OK that this was happening. I would also get a *free space* error, which was OK too, and expected in relation to this.

Well this weekend, it got worse. BIG TIME.

This time, Windows\System had a FAT error, which was not corrected, but Scandisk, in its ultimate wisdom, reclaimed most of the files and sub-directories there as free space. On the reboot, a VMM file was missing, so Windows couldn't load. I figured...OK, just one file was missing...I'll replace it. WRONG!! Only 16 files were left in there...all the sub-directories were gone. I was hosed!!

Well, I went and reinstalled my old drives from October (when I put in the 40GB) so I had a pretty recent *backup* in a sense. I was disappointed, but it wasn't a total disaster...till the same things started happening on those drives!!

Well, I immediately stopped, and made a copy of what I had...hoping it was still OK and that all the badness was actually being reported and repaired properly by Scandisk. I did this like 5 times before I gave up and re-installed the CYRIX. Since doing that, all the problems have gone away that I have been having...shutdown works, virus scanning can stay on when I mount my camera, etc... Did give me a chance to install AOL8.0 though, which has tons of fluff BTW, and a few other interesting behaviors with IE6... :roll:

So we do have a problem, and I think it is with the cache implementation in the BIOS patch and when I run the CACHECTL...maybe they are clashing with each other...dunno. I do know I will make a separate drive for messing with this till we get it right...don't want to go through this again. Plus it will be a nice clean install/update...without all the minor updates/registry leftovers/icons/etc... so it won't be all bad...might even try Win2000, if that can be run on the hardware I have.

OK...back to the drawing board...
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Tue Feb 25, 2003 10:39 pm

February's update to this saga has us thinking that there may be a chipset issue in detecting the combined L1/L2 cache of the K6-2/+ by the i430VX chipset. We had forced it on using CacheCTL, and perhaps that was the reason for the instability and eventual disk write issues, due to something within the chipset's design (timing issue, incompatibility, etc...). Jan thinks that may be the case, and that's why the machine hangs during POST when we try to enable the L1 within the BIOS.

I was trying to look into how this all works myself...how the BIOS and chipset together *find out* what is on the system in regards to CPU type and cache...both internal and external... but I haven't been able to find a reference for that...anyone have any insight on that?

I mentioned to Jan that I believe an i430HX has properly detected the AMD (Petr Soucek, GigaByte GA-586HX, Click here for the page), and since the HX and VX are close family, perhaps it really isn't a chipset issue and still a patching one.

Anyone have any input on that?
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Sun Mar 09, 2003 6:42 am

March NEWS -

Today Jan suggested I try disabling the System BIOS Cacheability control in the BIOS, since the 430TX chipset has problems with that. For some reason, we never tried that here.

Well, with that disabled, the VX was able to pickup the AMD's caches on its own, and not hang during POST!!

So it seems the VX and TX may be related in this "feature". I sent Jan the MSR and chipset register data with the AMD installed...now we'll see what happens next.

Any thought's on why this occurs with these two chipsets??
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Mon Mar 24, 2003 4:01 pm

Seems I spoke too soon...

Even though the machine now boots with the "System BIOS Cacheability" feature disabled, I still seem to have the same problems I had before (no PM, no complete Restart/Shutdown) although I haven't had a disk write error...yet. I do have a full backup this time though :-)

OK...more investigation required...
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Fri Mar 28, 2003 4:27 pm

I decided next to try turning off the "Video BIOS Cacheable" setting in the BIOS.

So far, things seem much more stable...PM seems to work now, and I have "Shutdown" each time successfully. I havent tried "Restart" that much, because I want to see that the system is closing down properly for a bit, and it is easier to see that with "Shutdown".

I will post more as I continue to test the system.
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Fri May 23, 2003 6:43 pm

Results for May -

Having both the "System BIOS Cacheable" and "Video BIOS Cacheable" set to "OFF" seems to do the trick. Patched BIOS is now "officially" in beta testing at Jan Steunebrink's "The Unofficial AMD K6-2+ / K6-III+ page".


Some interesting data from CacheMem -

Cache size/Memory speed info tool 2.65MMX - (c) 1999-2001, LRMS - DJGPP compiled
CPUID support detected... 'AuthenticAMD' with FPU TSC MMX
Family=5 Model=13 Step=4 Type=0 Chipset (Vendor/Device ID(Rev)): Intel/7030(02)
CPU clock: 398.9 MHz
Using 32MB physical memory block (alignment = 32)

Bandwidth - MMX linear access test... Read/Write/Copy (MB/s)
Block of 1KB: 3042.5 / 3042.4 / 4645.4
Block of 2KB: 2972.8 / 2972.9 / 4790.3
Block of 4KB: 3007.3 / 3007.2 / 4807.1
Block of 8KB: 3024.9 / 3024.9 / 4829.0
Block of 16KB: 3033.7 / 3033.7 / 4368.6
Block of 32KB: 2987.7 / 2941.1 / 1011.3
Block of 64KB: 1520.2 / 1013.5 / 999.5
Block of 128KB: 1506.9 / 1007.2 / 218.2
Block of 256KB: 336.5 / 146.8 / 218.2
Block of 512KB: 336.4 / 146.8 / 118.2
Block of 1024KB: 181.6 / 84.2 / 110.8
Block of 2048KB: 159.5 / 76.0 / 104.4
Block of 4096KB: 150.4 / 72.5 / 101.4
Block of 8192KB: 146.2 / 70.8 / 100.0
Block of 16384KB: 144.2 / 70.1 / 99.4
Block of 32768KB: 143.3 / 69.7

Latency - Memory walk tests... ("pointer chasing")
Null size: 2 cycles 1 cycles (overhead 41 cycles)
steps: 4 8 16 32 64 128 256 512 1k 2k 4k (bytes)
Block of 1KB: 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 - - - cycles
Block of 2KB: 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 - - cycles
Block of 4KB: 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 - cycles
Block of 8KB: 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 cycles
Block of 16KB: 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 cycles
Block of 32KB: 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 cycles
Block of 64KB: 2 3 6 12 24 24 23 23 23 23 23 cycles
Block of 128KB: 3 3 6 12 23 23 22 23 23 23 23 cycles
Block of 256KB: 6 9 18 36 72 72 72 72 72 72 72 cycles
Block of 512KB: 9 9 18 36 72 72 72 72 72 72 72 cycles
Block of 1024KB: 13 21 42 73 106 126 133 133 133 133 134 cycles
Block of 2048KB: 12 21 43 72 105 149 147 150 151 152 152 cycles
Block of 4096KB: 12 21 42 74 107 149 155 159 161 161 161 cycles
Block of 8192KB: 14 21 42 74 107 149 163 163 165 165 166 cycles
Block of 16384KB: 15 21 42 74 107 149 163 167 167 168 168 cycles
Block of 32768KB: 15 21 42 74 107 149 163 167 169 169 169 cycles

This system appears to have 3 cache levels (enabled).

L1 cache (32KB) speed (MB/s): Read=3033.7, Write=3033.7
L2 cache (128KB) speed (MB/s): Read=1520.2, Write=1013.5
L3 cache (512KB) speed (MB/s): Read=336.5, Write=146.8
Main memory speed (MB/s): Read=144.2, Write=70.1

Latency Summary: CPU Clocks: 2/23/72/166 Bus Corrected: 2/23/12/27.5
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Tue Jul 22, 2003 6:12 pm

Hi All!!

July brings us patch J.4, which extends the HD capacity to 128GB!!

Since I don't have a >64GB HD to test at present, this will go untested for now.

Everything else seems to be just fine :-)

About the only other thing I have done is set all the "Memory Timings" to their fastest values, with no errors to date using MemTest 3.0.

As usual, testing is on-going.

Hopefully there will be some more users out there who can help Beta test this "final" version.

That's all for now!!
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Sat Jan 03, 2004 3:49 pm

Happy New Year to everyone at Wim's!!

As of this date, Jan's BIOS for this board is now out of BETA testing. Hopefully more users will get to try it soon. ( http://web.inter.nl.net/hcc/J.Steunebrink/k6plus.htm )

Nothing to major to report recently, though in the next few months I will be moving to DSL, so I will be installing a NIC for that. I will be using an Intel EtherExpress PRO/10+ ISA Adapter (10Mbps) since that is all I really need at the moment bandwidth-wise, and because I only have one PCI slot left...which will hopefully get a PCI sound card soon (ISA one in use now). I do have a PCI Linksys 10/100 Ethernet adapter as well, in case I run into issues with the ISA NIC.

The only thing negative to report is that I've had two instances of FSInfoSector errors show during ScanDisk runs.

" FSInfoSector is where FAT32 stores file system information. When Windows fails to shut down correctly, this sector gets corrupted. The next time you run ScanDisk, the problem is detected and fixed, and you get a message telling you so.

If you're getting frequent FSInfoSector errors, chances are Windows isn't shutting down properly. Try closing all your programs before shutting Windows down to see if that solves the problem. And be sure not to turn off your system until Windows says it's ready to be shut down (or until your system has shut itself down, if it is set to do so).

http://averstak.tripod.com/fatdox/bootsec.htm#fis "

Anyone have any thoughts on why this may be occuring? I do have all the Microsoft patches in place...
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Fri Jul 09, 2004 3:36 pm

Update - July 2004

Well the old DFI is still cranking away here. Alot has happened since my last update 6 months ago.

I finally got DSL in February, so I had to decide on a NIC. I went with the Linksys NIC because of some issues I had surrounding the Intel one, and I'm glad I did. The card installed easily, though I do have some unanswered questions about its driver settings. My DSL comes in via a Westell 2200 DSL NAT/Router Modem and a Linksys 5-port switch, with the full run being 100Mbps!! I ended up installing the Intel NIC in my testbed (M520), which still serves as host for when I want to try something new. (Everyone should have a testbed. 8) )

Last month I made the jump to W2K Professional. Everything went smooth, from copying my Win98SE over to a backup drive (just in case) to final boot. All cards were detected and installed on their own, and if I need to go back to 98 for some reason, everything can stay in the same place as the settings are identical...just swap the HD cable and power and I'm there.

Since the switch, I have had no crashes whatsoever, and I can run anything anytime I want. With 98, as soon as certain applications launched while I was already running my normal compliment...BAM...down I went.

No more... :D

It seemed to do this once my swapfile hit around 30MB (in use). With W2K, I've had the swapfile up to at least 80MB (in use) with no signs of instability whatsoever! 8)

I think I have only rebooted twice in the last month...that's it. Gotta love advanced memory management... :wink:

That's it for now...time to play!!
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Tue Oct 26, 2004 1:45 pm

Hi All -

I've been experimenting on my Amptron PM-7900 (M520) in preparation for overclocking my DFI from 66MHz to 75MHz bus speed. While doing so, I came upon some data that I had overlooked in the past.

With the Amptron and its i200 non-MMX CPU, both read and write times are about the same, when tested using CacheCHK, with all caches enabled.

All caches off, 75MHz bus -

Read: ~53.4 uS/KB
Write: 10.6 uS/KB
Main RAM Read: 20.8 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 104.2 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 403 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 80 nS

CPU cache off, Motherboard (L2) cache on, 75MHz bus -

Read: 17.5, 22.7 uS/KB
Write: 10.6 uS/KB
Read L2: 63.0 MB/s
Main RAM Read: 48.4 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 104.2 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 173 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 80 nS

CPU cache on, Motherboard (L2) cache off, 75MHz bus -

Read: 3.5, 11.5 uS/KB
Write: 10.5 uS/KB
Read L1: 299.1 MB/s
Main RAM Read: 96.0 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 104.3 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 87 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 80 nS

All caches on, 75MHz bus -

Read: 3.5, 6.5, 11.5 uS/KB
Write: 10.5 uS/KB
Read L1: 308.9 MB/s
Read L2: 168.1 MB/s
Main RAM Read: 96.0 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 104.3 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 87 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 80 nS

With the DFI and its K6-2/+ 450 (6x66MHz for 400MHz currently), the write times are much longer than the read times. I was wondering if this was due to Write Allocation, or some other peculiarity about the board, so I ran some more tests.

All caches off -

Read: ~44 uS/KB
Write: ~20 uS/KB
Main RAM Read: 25.0 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 55.5 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 335 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 151 nS

CPU cache off, Motherboard (L3) cache on -

Read: 19.9, 24.3 uS/KB
Write: ~20 uS/KB
Read L3: 55.5 MB/s
Main RAM Read: 45.2 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 55.5 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 185 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 151 nS

CPU cache on, Motherboard (L3) cache off -

Read: 0.7, 1.0, 6.5 uS/KB
Write: 0.7, 1.2, 13.5 uS/KB
Read L1: 1659.8 MB/s
Read L2: 1100.3 MB/s
Write L1: 1656.8 MB/s
Write L2: 921.8 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Main RAM Read: 168.7 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Main RAM Write: 81.6 MB/s
Read Access Time: 49 nS
Write Access Time: 102 nS

All caches on -

Read: 0.7, 1.0, 3.0, 6.5 uS/KB
Write: 0.7, 1.2, 6.8, 14.9 uS/KB
Read L1: 1659.8 MB/s
Read L2: 1108.9 MB/s
Read L3: 369.9 MB/s
Write L1: 1656.7 MB/s
Write L2: 922.1 MB/s
Write L3: 161.4 MB/s
Main RAM Read: 168.6 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 73.6 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 49 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 113 nS

Note that as soon as I enabled the motherboard cache, write times to Main RAM slowed down by about 11%. Also note that the overall write times are ~50% longer on the DFI...with no caches enabled!!!

I then went to turn off Write Allocation (my BIOS is patched to automatically enable it), but found that the DOS utilities that I had would not disable it.

The only difference between the Amptron and the DFI is that the Amptron has the Rev. 1 (SU085) System Controller, while the DFI has the Rev. 2 (SU116) version. They both have the same Revision (2) of the IDE Controller (SU093). Both are using the best RAM timings possible. (Actually, the Amptron can only run 3,6,3,x222,x222,1,FEDO ON,5 or 3,7,2,x222,x222,1,FEDO ON,5 timings at 66MHz (and 4,7,3,x222,x222,1,FEDO OFF,5 at 75MHz), where the DFI can run 3,6,2,x222,x222,1,FEDO ON,5.)

**Also of note is that I just found out that the same thing happened when my Cyrix MIIv was on-board...the write times were slower than the read times. I guess the only way to be sure is to put the i200 in the DFI and see what happens.

So I'm stuck now for the moment, until I find a DOS tool to disable my WA. Any idea if the WA is responsible for the apparent slowdown in RAM write times, once all three caches are enabled? And for the baseline...with no caches enabled? Could this be a BIOS issue? Could this be a difference in the chipset timing after all...??

Thanks to all for your input.
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Tue Oct 26, 2004 8:28 pm

OK...

I was able to use CTCM to disable the WA. Here is the data -

CPU cache on, Motherboard (L3) cache off, WA off -

Read: 0.7, 1.0, 6.5 uS/KB
Write: 19.8 uS/KB
Read L1: 1662.4 MB/s
Read L2: 1113.7 MB/s
Main RAM Read: 168.7 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 55.5 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 49 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 151 nS

All caches on, WA off -

Read: 0.7, 1.0, 3.0, 6.5 uS/KB
Write: 19.8 uS/KB
Read L1: 1662.5 MB/s
Read L2: 1113.9 MB/s
Read L3: 370.0 MB/s
Main RAM Read: 168.7 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 55.5 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 49 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 151 nS

Note that with WA off, there is no Write Performance Data to the caches!! (Why??)

In order to compare apples to apples, here is the Amptron data at 66MHz -

All caches off, 66MHz bus -

Read: ~48 uS/KB
Write: 11.8 uS/KB
Main RAM Read: 23.1 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 92.9 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 362 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 90 nS

CPU cache off, Motherboard (L2) cache on, 66MHz bus -

Read: 19.6, 24.5 uS/KB
Write: 11.8 uS/KB
Read L2: 56.0 MB/s
Main RAM Read: 44.8 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 92.9 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 187 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 90 nS

CPU cache on, Motherboard (L2) cache off, 66MHz bus -

Read: 3.9, 11.8 uS/KB
Write: 11.8 uS/KB
Read L1: 267.6 MB/s
Main RAM Read: 92.9 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 92.9 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 90 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 90 nS

All caches on, 66MHz bus -

Read: 3.9, 7.4, 11.8 uS/KB
Write: 11.8 uS/KB
Read L1: 274.5 MB/s
Read L2: 149.4 MB/s
Main RAM Read: 92.9 MB/s
Main RAM Write: 92.9 MB/s
Effective Main RAM Read Access Time: 90 nS
Effective Main RAM Write Access Time: 90 nS
Post Reply