ga586hx Bios support for 32GB+

Only for programmers and BIOS gurus with technical questions.
janpopan
Chip off the ol' block
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2002 10:08 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

If I try to patch the Bios for the GA586S2, I got a problem. There is not enough space to fit in the code. ;-(

Look here:

ga586S2 (30.7.1998) Code
2666837D78FF741252

Asus T2P4(28.4.1999) or GA586HX(21.10.1998) Code
2666837D78FF741A26817D7AF00F771252


Patch Code
26817d7af0037202b2ff9090909090909052 (or)
26817d7af0037202b2ff52 (jumps all behind 52 push dx)

Jan
janpopan
Chip off the ol' block
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2002 10:08 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

I have 2 negative mails for the T2P4, the computer hangs at
Initialize Plug and Play Cards...
PNP Init completed

Detecting HDD Primary Master ... Maxtor 4D080H4

[clear screen]

Award Software, Inc.
System Configuration
-----------------------------------------------------------------
|CPU : AMD-K6-2/400
|Co-Processor : Installed BaseMemory :
| Extended Memory :
|----------------------------------------------------------------
| Diskette Drive A : 1.44M, 3.5 in. Display Type :
| Diskette Drive B : None Serial Port(s) :
| Pri. Master Disk : LBA ,Mode 4, Parallel Port(s) :
| Pri. Slave Disk :
| Sec. Master Disk :
| Sec. Slave Disk :
-----------------------------------------------------------------

it can not calculate the Size of the HDD for a 80 GB and a 120 GB drive :-(

Jan
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

The GigaByte GA-586S2 BIOS seems to have the "old-style" code (I call it this way :wink: ) - I have seen this in some BIOSes during testing of my program. (cmp something 00, je somewhere, cmp something ff, je somewhere)

Have you tested it if it does work with HDDs over 32GB?
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
janpopan
Chip off the ol' block
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2002 10:08 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Hi,
I have not a GA586S2 but I got a mail for "support" and so I try to patch the Bios. But there was the "new" smaller code inside.

And also I wrote a mail to Petr Soucek because the Bug in the T2P4 Bios. In his answer, he wrote:

But wait - I just found something in file XFILE.ASM - it is source
code of configuration display. There is one patch:

;R42 04/23/99 KVN Fixed system hang when IDE HDD size over 65GB

I enclosed XFILE.ASM to this e-mail.


So I think I can fix this Bug.

Jan
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

I was looking into the "old-style" code maybe an hour or even more around the midnight yesterday/today and maybe found a way to patch it. Now I have to test it. I will put it here after successful testing. Can you put here the 65GB fix (if successful)?
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

I tried the patched BIOS today and it does not work properly - detects 40GB HDD as 9.8GB. So I did simple stupid patch - removed cmp something FF (as usual) but also removed cmp something 00 that was before it and put usual things (cmp somewhere 3f0, jb next, mov dl ff) there (and padded with nops up to the push dx). Now it detects 40GB without any problems :)
But it might cause problems with some more non-standard ATAPI devices (I tried Toshiba SD-M1212 DVD-ROM and it worked OK).
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

janpopan: You said that the 64GB problem can be fixed by two bytes - does it work (have you tried it)? Can you post what needs to be changed? I can't test it because my largest HDD is 40GB.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
janpopan
Chip off the ol' block
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2002 10:08 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

I have fixed the t2p4 Bios again, there is a DIV in the routine which calculates the size of the HDD. I removed that DIV (F7F1) and replaced that with NOP NOP (90 90). The Bios shows the size (for all HDDs) wrong but it works. (I got 2 mails)

The address in the orginal.tmp is 8b2f . It is the same in the Beta2 and in the Bios Version of Jan Steunebrink.

You have to set the Type for the HDD to auto, because in the IDE Detection routine in the Bios is the same Bug again ... but I have not search for it now.

At the moment I have not much time ... sorry

Jan
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Rainbow wrote:I will test various BIOSes for FX boards modified by this program on my MSI MS-5120 board. Is anyone here who will test it on some other boards?
I'm happy to try on PC-Chips M577 - see my other post. I think VisionTop (Otto) VT586TX is also Award.
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
Post Reply