bootblock bios rom checksum error heat sensitive

BIOS Questions that don't belong in the other forums. Read them!
jessj
New visitors - please read the rules.

Hi - I'm afraid I'm an ignorant newbie, so sorry if I'm asking stupid question. Have an old HP 864n desktop that seems to have a bios issue. On dead cold boot get bootblok bios rom checksum error. After many retries, sometimes it loaded default bios settings, could enter bios setup, reset and get to HP "Invent" screen. Started to wonder if getting beyond bootblock was due to system heating up. Tried directing heat from hairdryer at bios chip for a few seconds. On immediate boot, bios loads with defaults, etc. And as long as system is hot, can shutdown and restart normally.

Have I discovered anything worthwhile, (other than a complicated procedure for powering up a pc)? Is the heat (or cold) sensitivity indicative of a physically bad bios chip, a chip just not well burned, or motherboard issue? Or could answer still be any of these or other issues. Any thoughts what best course of attack would be? Thanks, and sorry if this is dumb on my part. - jessj
edwin
The Hardware Archivist

Replace the CMOS backup battery. Most likely that is a coin cell CR2032 lithium 3V. If you cannot find that I'll have to dig up the spec sheet for this dinosaur and see what battery they used.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
jessj
New visitors - please read the rules.

Hey - Thanks Edwin. I have changed out the battery, but result unfortunately is exactly same. I suppose next least costly/invasive step would be flashing/ updating bios. but I'm reluctant to attempt this as I have not done before, and since will boot normally (as long as hot) suspect that bios does have good info.