Does this scsi hardrive work on my GA-6VXE7+ Motherboard

BIOS Questions that don't belong in the other forums. Read them!
Post Reply
hired_goon
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2002 9:49 pm

Sat Apr 13, 2002 2:32 pm

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sat Apr 13, 2002 2:46 pm

If you put in a SCSI controller card that can handle this disk I don't see why not. The board as such has no onboard SCSI, so you need a seperate add-in card.

Beware, that Micropolis is probably VERY noisy.
gangsta
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:31 pm

Sat Apr 13, 2002 6:13 pm

hired_goon

Unless I am mistaken about the model number; I think that mobo you are referring to has RAID onboard. So if that is ture, you can get a regular EIDE hard drive supporting 100ATA speed & 7200 rpm .
It will give you a similar performance from the HD with out messing with SCSI or paying extra for it.
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Sat Apr 13, 2002 7:12 pm

There's no RAID on that board - see picture at http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/products/6vxe7+p.htm - there are only 2 standard IDE channels.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
gangsta
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:31 pm

Sun Apr 14, 2002 1:33 am

thanks for correcting me . It was my mistake. I have another GA with RAID onboard with a number very similar to this; but when I went to check it I realized it was different.

Sorry
Post Reply