I am a newbie with pc and starting from scratch

BIOS Questions that don't belong in the other forums. Read them!
chuckycheeze
New visitors - please read the rules.

A few weeks ago , I just bought my first computer after I retired and now have the time to use it.
and its got windows xp home pc desktop intel motherboard ..
I am a total newbie , I want to make a disaster recovery bootable cd just in case my computer won’t boot up to my desktop and I also will use a ghost dual layer 8.5 dvd clone of my c:/ drive to return my computer to the pre- disaster state after the boot disk does its work .
I just bought some new software for my pc its system suite 5 ontrack from vcom with recovery commander program built in which is a disaster recovery program .The hang up is the bios
The technition told me that if I ever need to use the bootable cd in a catastrophy he instructed to do the following ( as an aside , I would image any boot disk would require this operation whether it be this program or retrospect backup pro 6.5 … )
Once a bootable cd is created, To be able to use the bootable cd to start up a computer that won’t boot to desktop/windows you must set up the bios so the cd rom boots before the hard drive otherwise the bootable cd won’t be any use to you …..
Entering a system's BIOS is a bit different on each system he said .
Most of the time, upon initial bootup, you'll see a small message saying 'hit DEL( is that delete key?) to enter Setup' (or it could be F1, F2 or F12).
Once you have entered the setup/BIOS, again, the Boot Order is located in different places depending on that version of BIOS.
Once located, then change the boot order so the cd rom boots before the hard drive.

My question is is it safe to change any default or pre-set configuration in the bios and could it cause any problems with the performance of my computer ?