Shuttle AV61 & WinXP installation Problems!

BIOS Questions that don't belong in the other forums. Read them!
Post Reply
Phoebus
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 6:41 pm

Hi.

I have been DESPERATELY trying to install WinXP on my system and no matter what I try I can't get it to work.

Has anyone else been having problems with this mobo but managed to fix it?

The problem is that once the installation begins, the system restarts and basically goes into a boot cycle. Sometimes I get blue screens.

Yes, I've tried everything. Here's a list of (few) things I've tried:

- BIOS ver is updated
- I disconnected everything leaving just drives and video
- Tried different memory types
- Tried different video cards
- Fooled around with various BIOS settings such as Power Management, memory speed, CPU Internal & External cache
- ... and lots of other stuff!!

I am convinced that I should buy a new mobo but I read somewhere that WinXP can be installed successfully on this mobo.

PLEASE, PLEASE. ANY help will be greatly appreciated on this. If you need any other info on this I would be glad to provide it for you.

Many thanks,
Phoebus
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

There are two sets of revisions for the AV61. Have you flashed the right BIOS release?
Phoebus
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 6:41 pm

Yes, I gave flashed the correct one (v1.4).
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Have you read the readme file from the BIOS download site? It does mention that you MUST load SETUP defaults before installing a new OS.

Also, if you have any other OS (obviously older than WinXP), would you like to try if it installs properly?
Phoebus
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 6:41 pm

Hehe... I'm telling you guys, I've tried EVERYTHING!!

Yes, I did try to load BIOS defaults. Didn't work... Win98 works just fine... I get the same problem however when I try to install Win2k, which doesn't really surprise me since it's the same (or similar) architecture as WinXP.

I'm pretty sure that it's one BIOS setting or a combination of two or more...

I repeat however, Shuttle says on their site that my mobo supports WinXP.

Pretty messed up, right?! :)
Phoebus
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Based on personal experience, Win2K and XP are a lot more demanding when it comes to RAM quality.
I've had unsuccessful installations of both OSes in systems that worked PERFECTLY with Win98SE and ME.

I'd try different RAM if I were you. Or, if you have two sticks of RAM, try installing with just one until you find which one is faulty.
Phoebus
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 6:41 pm

I've tried that too, installing my memory modules one at a time...
Still the same problem!

I called Shuttle and they said that it's probably a memory problem or a CPU (???) problem...

I'll see if I can get my hands on some other memory...
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Last attempt: try UNDERclocking you CPU before installing.
soupy
Absentee administrator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:06 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Have you tried forcing an APM install during setup?
Flash your BIOS at your own risk.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Use this on your perfectly good ram sticks, it will tell you just how good they are...

http://www.goldmemory.cz

it already has saved me some time by sorting out bad sticks of memory (crashes, blue screens -> memory trouble).
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Phoebus
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 6:41 pm

Screw it guys, I'm giving up! :(

I've tried just about anything... I'm back with Win98 now...

I'll probably buy a new mobo. I can safely say now that SHUTTLE SUCKS!!

Anyways, thanks for all your help. Really appreciate it.

Cheers,
Phoebus
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

If your Win98 proves unstable occasionally (BSOD, hangs, reboots, etc.) over time, then do assume it's bad RAM.
Phoebus
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 6:41 pm

GOD DAMN!!!! I finally fixed it!!!

Yes, you're gonna laugh at me but the problem was that I was using a Serial mouse and not a PS/2 mouse. I really don't see how that should cause a problem but it did!

Anyways, everything works fine now... well, almost! It seems that there's a problem with my Ethernet card. While it works fine at some point WinXP will freeze and then when I restart the OS will not load, even if I remove the card...

Any ideas? I'ts either a BIOS setting or my Ethernet card (Netgear) is faulty...

Cheers,
Phoebus
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Looks like Windows XP is the only faulty thing here...
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Post Reply