128GB: (BCM SQ575) 07/06/98-i430TX-2A59IB31C-00

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
Post Reply
bdr
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 11:39 pm

I am trying to install a 40 GB ATA/100 Hard Drive on my BCM SQ575. Ive tried the BCM Forum and was told:

You can go to the hard drive forum at www.wimsbios.com and ask them to patch the latest BIOS for hard drive recognition to 128 GB. Read the forum rules before you post. If you go this route, after you've flashed the patched BIOS, you may have to use a utility from the support area of the hard drive manufacturer's web site to set the DMA mode to ATA33/UDMA2 in order for DMA to work in Windows (otherwise performance limitations).

The SQ575s IDE Ports do not work with ATA/100 also. Ive got a PCI Raid ATA/100 Controller in the computer and the drive is set to primary. When I turn on the computer the drive is not detected. So any ideas or suggestions?[/img]
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Do you need to disable the on-board IDE controller for the RAID card to work ?
I assume the RAID card has its own BIOS ?
bdr
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 11:39 pm

When I disable the onboard IDE Controller It doesnt change anything. Maybe its that the Card doesnt have its own BIOS?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Spot on. You need one with its own bios.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
bdr
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 11:39 pm

Any suggestions on cards to get and maybe where to get one?
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Most people like the Promise cards.
Would you be interested in trying a patched BIOS until you can get the card ?
bdr
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 11:39 pm

Not in less the new card comes up with the same problem. If it does I'll come back and tell you what happens
Post Reply