60GB: MVP3-596-2A5LET7DC-00

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
Post Reply
MiP
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 8:09 pm

I need a bios upgrade to recognise hard drives bigger than 32 gig and the AMD K6-3+ CPU

Its a Slim desktop computer 2.75"x15"x16" with the letter A and a z like on top of the A in red that a friend got from a garage sale, the label under the base of the computer says IBM MODEL 1158E (made in CANADA), the IBM Site has no such model that i could find, its an Award bios ver (1156) B002.0, the bios i.d. is 02/24/1999-MVP3-596-2A5LET7DC-00, the PC board has T1156 R020 written on it, I can find the company i.d T7 is not in the list of company Award has.

[/b]
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tatung TDA1156 system. I'll see what I can dig up. In the mean time make a backup of your current bios

get awdflash version 7.x somewhere and a bootable floppy no autoexec.bat or config.sys on it. copy awdflash.exe to it.

boot from floppy and type

awdflash /Pn /Sy T1156.bin

followed by an Enter

when done, take out floppy, boot system and email the T1156.bin file to edwin@wimsbios.net
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
MiP
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 8:09 pm

Thank you for Identifying the computer as a Tatung TDA1156 system I was able to find a updated Bios ver B005.0 but still not able to recognize the Western Digital W600, I am sending you that new bios rev
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Patched bios sent in return. Let us know how it works out.

Don't forget to remove the 32GB clipping jumper.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
MiP
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 8:09 pm

Fantastic it work :D , I partition the disk in 3 a 7.8gig, 25gig, 25gig, install WinMe, without a itch, thank you Edwin, now all I need is the k6-3+ 450 to be recognize, it only work with a multiplier of 3 or less, I know there are small program that I can use to access the multiplier of the CPU but would rater not use them.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

You might try giving biosman a PM for extra CPU support, that is his specialism, not mine.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply