80GB: 04/27/2001-8365-686B-6A6LMM49C

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
myBS
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 5:10 am

How do I get my BIOS recognize full 80GB?

My setting is AUTO config drive type. Enable "LBA". That will not show me full capacity.

I try to change to MANUAL for drive type and CHS (I don't know what that's). That will let me enter the setting in the manual; still won't give me full capacity. The setting is
Cyl 1023 HD 16
Sec 63 LBA Disabled

Cyl doesn't look right!!!!

Will my motherboard support big hard drive?
Master will be around 58GB, slave will be around 80BG.
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Please check manual or documentation of your HDD or look what's printed onto it - there must be somewhere a special jumper limiting your HDD to 32GB - remove him !
Your Board/Bios supports over 128GB with latest Bios so problem is either a wrong jumper on your HDD or the EZ-drive has something done to the HDD firmware letting them report only 32GB .
Please search first for a 32GB Limitation jumper - without success check EZ-Bios documentation
myBS
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 5:10 am

Thank you Denniss, you're da men!!! :D

Thank you all for your help.

It's working

It's a long story.
bigger hard drive = master.
Remove default dumper.
Use EZ install.
myBS
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 5:10 am

My USB is not working :(

Can it be the BIOS?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Was it working before?

What operating system?

Loaded chipset drivers?

What is the exact problem? Not working is too vague...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
myBS
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 5:10 am

Yes, it was working b4. It's win2K. Run chipset driver setup? Is that VIA chipset driver? Will it work with the new BIOS?

My computer doesn't see my "USB device" like scanner.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

VIA 4-in-1 drivers. http://www.viaarena.com
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

viaarena.com also has a USB filter driver (version 1.1) which improved my USB in my VIA board. Try that too.
Post Reply