80gb(MS-6199VM) ID: 01/01/2000-692-596-W977-2A6LGM4EC-00

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
Post Reply
dator
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:02 pm

Hi

This is the bios identificqtion from "bios agent":

Program: Unicore BIOS Wizard Version 3.23
Program: eSupport.com BIOS Detect v1.2 July 21, 2003
BIOS Date: 01/01/00
BIOS Type: Award Modular BIOS v4.51PG
BIOS ID: 01/01/2000-692-596-W977-2A6LGM4EC-00
OEM Sign-On: W6199VMS V3.5 100200
Chipset: VIA 82C691 rev 68
Superio: Winbond 977EF rev 4 found at port 3F0h
OS: Microsoft Windows 98 SE Version: 4.10.2222 A
CPU Type: INTEL(R) CELERON(TM)
CPU Speed: 500 Mhz
CPU Max: 500 Mhz
BIOS ROM In Socket: Yes
BIOS ROM Size: 256K
Memory Installed: 256 MB
Memory Maximum: 768 MB
Memory Slot 01: 128 MB
Memory Slot 02: 128 MB
Memory Slot 03: 0 MB

I have also identified my bios with Aida32 and I can send the file to anyone that might need it...

The problem is this:
My new WD-800JB disk is recogniced as an WD-1200BB disk in my BIOS.

I have tryed to solve this problem in several ways, however i keep getting the same error...

This is what I have tryed:
-New harddrive x3
-Reflash BIOS(w6199vms 3.50)x3
-All the different jumper settings
-Different harddrives that has been on less than 65gb, these has been correctly recogniced by BIOS and OS

Thanks for all replyes
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Bios should support HDD up to 120GB

Either a compatibility issue with your Bios or your HDD is a 120GB disc with a wrong label .

Please try your HDD on a friend's computer - maybe it shows 120GB,too
dator
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:02 pm

Yes, it should and it has been working with this disk before, the error just suddenly appered one day.
8O
Like i said in my first message I have tried three different WD-800JB(80gb) disks, all with the same result. :cry: They keep identifing as WD-1200BB (120gb) in my bios.

And again this is what I have tried:
-New harddrive x3
-Reflash BIOS(w6199vms 3.50)x3
-All the different jumper settings
-Different harddrives that has been on less than 65gb, these has been correctly recogniced by BIOS and OS

I am greatfull for all replyes :)
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Changed IDE cable ?
Use the 80wire cable with blue end to mainboard and black end to master drive
Try an older 40wire cable,too

Does IDE HDD Auto-Detection in Bios give the same wrong detection ?

Tried to Clear CMOS and then "Load Setup Defaults" in Bios ?

Does the older Bios 3.4 hang with the big size HDD ?
dator
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:02 pm

Hi denniss

I have allready tied to change my ide cable(one 40conductor and one 80)
No, actually it does not give the same detection, it can not find any disk if i use the Auto-Detection. Also i have forgotten to mention that the bios does not detect the wrong disk before after a restart when I have just connected the 80gb disk(the first time i turn the computer it does not find any disk)

Yes, I have tried to clear CMOS(with jumper and battery removal) and I have loaded setup defaults MANY times and reflashed the BIOS three times.

Yes, it does not detect the disk at all with the 3.4 BIOS
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

You really want to take this up with Western Digital themsleves, it appears you have a series of WD800JB drives with the wrong controller board, else I cannot explain why it would list itself as a different valid Western Digital drive model. Include serial numbers and firmware revision it reports...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
dator
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:02 pm

Hi Edwin

I have tried the disk in another computer now and it seems that it is fully functunal, so i do not think the problem is the disk itself.
Post Reply