ASUS 32GB Fix needed for my daughter computer.

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
lillekillen
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:30 pm

ASUS 32GB Fix needed for my daughter computer.

Post by lillekillen » Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:17 pm

Hello every body!

I've been searching for day’s to find any bios for
ASUS OPLX-M but nothing.
Even Asus have no org. bios fore this motherboard
I it’s my 7 year old daughter computer.
And it’s hard to tell here that it is impassable to install here on
Bayed 40g.bytes hard disk on it. So please help me.

Now the BIOS details:

Program: eSupport.com BIOS Agent Version 3.61
BIOS Date: 04/07/99
BIOS Type: Award Modular BIOS v4.51PG
BIOS ID: 04/07/99-i440LX-OPLX-M
OEM Sign-On: ASUS OPLX-M ACPI BIOS Revision 1008B
Chipset: Intel 440EX/LX rev 3
Superio: Winbond 977TF rev 0 found at port 3F0h

Is there a way to fix the 32GB bug ??

// lillekillen

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6207
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by edwin » Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:20 am

What Fujitsu/Siemens PC model is this exactly? If we can find their bios upgrade we might be able to patch it. Maybe they even released a fixed version themselves.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Post by Denniss » Thu Feb 08, 2007 11:19 am


cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Post by cp » Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:42 pm

This site says that OPLX-M and MEL-M are the same boards. i can't verify that..so use at your own risk!

MEL-M bios 1010.004:
http://dlsvr01.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/soc ... 1010cm.zip
MEL-M Beta BIOS ver.1010.004
Add microcode update support for Coppermine B-0 stepping
Added micro-code for stepping D CPU support.(for flash 2M only)
Revised micro-code for stepping B CPU.(for flash 2M only)
Fix for ACPI support failure on 1M flash board
Support IDE hard disk larger than 65G bytes

lillekillen
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:30 pm

Post by lillekillen » Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:49 am

Try the 1009 Bios:

http://download.fujitsu-siemens.com/Dow ... 4BF44F9ADE
_________________
32GB/64GB-BUG patched and tested BIOS
Uniflash - flash anything everywhere
This file 1009 bios Sims to fit but with file should I flash?
There are 2 file on this 1009.exe besides AFLASH.EXE autoexec.bat and BIOS.COM
The files are 1009.rom and Oplm108b.awd…

//lillekillen

lillekillen
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:30 pm

Post by lillekillen » Sat Feb 10, 2007 12:10 am

edwin wrote:What Fujitsu/Siemens PC model is this exactly? If we can find their bios upgrade we might be able to patch it. Maybe they even released a fixed version themselves.
The bios upgrade is “1009.rom” which Denniss fund on the simens side.
But it´s sill hav the 32gb bug in it.
MEL-M bios 1010.004 which cp foud is not the rigt bios for OPLX-M sorry.
Can you try to patch the 1009.rom for me and my daughter then i and she will
Be very happy


//Lillekillen
Last edited by lillekillen on Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lillekillen
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:30 pm

Post by lillekillen » Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:13 pm

Here is a new link to the rom file:

http://medlem.spray.se/lillekillen/mc/1009.zip
(right click and save as)

Please help me to patch this bios file!

//Lillekillen

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6207
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by edwin » Tue Feb 13, 2007 11:34 pm

you've got mail
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

lillekillen
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:30 pm

Post by lillekillen » Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:52 pm

Sorry edwin but this patched file works
With 40gb hard disk but the bios crash when a
Tried to set the time or look at the ide settings .
:(

// lillekillen

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6207
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by edwin » Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:17 pm

That is weird. I fear there's not much I can do about it, the patch either works or not and we don't touch the time setting or ide parameter setting pieces of the bios, only the detection routine. Are you sure the cmos battery is still OK? On low battery strange things can happen.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Post by NickS » Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:01 am

Lillekillen, can you try a work-around? Disconnect the HDD when you want to enter CMOS setup - leave the IDE type as Auto/Auto.

Edwin, we have seen a couple of patched BIOSes that hung in CMOS setup. The IDE display I can understand - it may be that some versions of BIOS have a slightly different size calculation or display routine in the CMOS setup that Rainbow's patcher doesn't recognise. The clock is puzzling. We could always try apple_rom's patcher.
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"

fury101
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:36 pm

I have the same problem trying to install an 80GB drive

Post by fury101 » Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:42 pm

Can you possibly send me the bios you sent to the previous gentleman.
I have been searching for ages for this update.

Im at my wits end and feel this is the last chance i have to get the problem sorted out.

Thanks in advance

Paul (fury101)

edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6207
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by edwin » Wed May 02, 2007 11:04 pm

well, since I can't be sure the online bioses are the proper one for you, please make a backup with uniflash and send the file to my email address, I'll try the apple_rom patcher, maybe that does the trick.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...

Atte_84
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:56 pm

Post by Atte_84 » Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:41 pm

Hi there!
I came accros this topic googling and it describes excactly the same issue I was searching solution for.

I have do-it-yourself PC with antique OPLX-M Rev.1.02 board and I seem to have the BIOS revision 1009 on startup. It might been that version since purchase, but I can't remember if I have updated the BIOS my self over the years I have had the raggedy thing. This PC has been functioning as my 24/7-on P2P server for several years with 20Gb 5200rpm Quantum Fireball, but now I swapped in old Maxtor Diamond Max 9 80Gb. After the installation of the Windows XP it came apparent - like the FDISK had already hinted on partitioning - that supposedly it has such an old technology that the BIOS restricts use of HDD's over 32GB.

Any working solution on this? As I understand reading this thread did you tweak the existing 1009 BIOS version to provide possibly working support for bigger than 32GB HDD? I could try the tweaked BIOS since the thing is barely breathing. It is very tricky to get it even starting nowadays or go past the system countdown screen. I have to set the HDD jumper on the drive to SLAVE and use the Secondary IDE slave array. Nothing else seems to work with HDD, altough I manage to run old Samsung SD-616E optical drive on Primary IDE master. With any other IDE setting for HDD the IDE HDD auto detection in the BIOS will freeze and it won't go past detecting the HDD in the corresponding IDE aray - besides secondary slave. I would try the fixed BIOS if you were kind enough to send it to me or point a link.

Atte_84
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:56 pm

Post by Atte_84 » Sat Aug 04, 2007 3:00 pm

Oh, as I've selected not to show my email in fear of even more spam, here's my address:

puputinttiÅÄÖatÄÖwelho.com
(remove the Scandinavian characters and replace the at)

Post Reply