SATA HD not recognized

BIOS update, EIDE card, or overlay software? (FAQ Hard disk recognition)
kls5834
New visitors - please read the rules.

Yes, I read other posts but none helped me.
I have an Elitegroup KM400-M2 MB and Maxtor 6L100MO 100GB SATA150 HD.
I bought this pc used and it had tons of crap on it I didnt want so I wiped it clean, thinking I could use my restore disk to reinstall the OS. First mistake! I had the COA for my Win XP, I just didn't have the OS disk.
So I enlisted the help of a friend of a friend......who works on pcs to reinstall the OS. Second mistake! At first, he told me the HD was bad, then good, then the Motherboard was bad, then he wasn't sure, then he gave up.
Now I have an OS XS disk, but can't get it to work.
I've never built a pc before so if it seems like I don't really know alot, its because I may not.
Anyway, I looked through the BIOS and could find anything that says anything about SATA.
When trying to put the OS on there, it eventually reaches the point where it says there isn't a hard drive and then I get the big blue screen.
Another friend brought over an IDE HD, plugged it in, and it all booted up perfectly using his IDE HD.
So, I think it has to be something simple but I can't find anything to work.
I looked in the BIOS, advanced, integrated peripherals sections and don't see anything about enabling SATA or anything about SATA at all.
When I hit "Tab" to go into the Raid Sata Bios, it clearly shows the HD but I can't navigate this utility, like it is frozen. The only thing I can do is exit the utility. If I unplug the Sata HD, it disappears from the list and then reappears when I plug it back in, so I know it is there!!!!
Help!
Thanks in advance for any suggestions. I guess I could go out and buy an IDE HD but I really hate to throw away good money.