help needed for M6VBE

Hot-swapping and Boot-Block flash & Boot block flash and floppy support
Post Reply
bs0078
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 10:57 pm

I´ve several problems with my motherboard M6VBE within my Fujitsu-Siemens PC Pentium III 500. The PC runs with Windows XP.
I´ve tried to install a 120 GB HD which doesn´t work. Trying to solve the problem I´ve updated my BIOS with "vbe1118a.bin dated 29.11.2002". I´ve found the BIOS update on the Fujitsu-Siemens site.
After having updated my BIOS "bluescreens" came up. The messages within the various bluescreens are the following:
1. PFN_list_corrupt
2. Memory_management
3. IRQ_not_less_or_equal
4. Kernel_data_inpage_error
Which BIOS update can I use to avoid those bluescreens and to install my 120GB HD?
The BIOS Informations from my PC are the following:
BIOS Manufacturer: Award Modular BIOS v4.51PG
BIOS ID: 11/18/1999-693-596-8671-2A6LGB09C-00
BIOS Date: 11/18/99
BIOS ROM Size: 256K
BIOS OEM Signon: VBE 1118A
Chipset: VIA 82C691 rev 6
Super I/O Chip: SMC 60x found at port 3F0h

Who can help?
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Do you have the M6VBE with VIA 692 or VIA 693 chipset ?
>> This Bios is only for the 693 Version of the M6VBE
Or the M6VBE-A with VIA 693A chipset ?
Have you cleared CMOS and then loaded in Bios Setup/Performance Settings ?
If you have the correct Board then try to test with only one memory stick or with reduced memory timings
bs0078
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 10:57 pm

I think I have the M6VBE with the VIA 693 chipset (written on the chip VIA VT82C693).
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Then the Bios is correct

Have you cleared CMOS and then loaded in Bios Setup/Performance Settings ?
If you have the correct Board then try to test with only one memory stick or with reduced memory timings

But for a 120GB HDD you'll need our patched Bios - maybe your problems came from the Bios interfering with your big HDD or the drive overlay software you might have used
bs0078
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 10:57 pm

denniss,
tried all what you´ve said,
-cleared CMOS and then loaded in Bios Setup/Performance Settings
-used only one memory stick
-used the patched Bios
but
120 GB HD only 32 GB recognized and
bluescreen with "IRQ_not_less_or_equal"?

what to try next?
bs0078
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 10:57 pm

denniss,
I´ve had wrong jumper settings on the HD. Now all 120 GB are recognized.
I´m now using only on memory stick (256 MB RAM), perhaps this will help to avoid those bluescreens!
I´ll keep you informed!
bs0078
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 10:57 pm

still blue screen with "irq not less or equal"
help urgently needed?
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Try disabling ACPI in BIOS.
bs0078
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 10:57 pm

Problem of the bluescreens solved. The "old" 20 GB HD drive wasn´t fully formated. Have bought another 120 GB HD and installed XP.
All seems to went right.... but.... now the PC breaks down without any message. Trying to update XP the PC breaks down and couldn´t get started.
Now I´m fed up with that m6vbe motherboard and bought a new one (intel D845PESV) and a P4 processor.
Now all went right...

I´ll keep you posted regarding the m6vbe problems. Hopefully I get this solved...
bs0078
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 10:57 pm

have find out that the old pc with the m6vbe runs properly under linux.
former problems seems to be xp related!
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Most likely something with incomplete ACPI implementation. I've seen this happen before.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply