Gateway laptop says "no operating system." Bios p

Don't ask how to hack password. (BIOS Passwords)
boaznb
New visitors - please read the rules.

Hi, I'm totally new to this. I recently sent in a Gateway MX7120 in for repair (external cosmetic repair only - due to a manufacturing defect). I have been eagerly awaiting it since I hate vista and had everything working smoothly on this. But when I popped the harddrive back in and turned it on, I received this message:

Pre-bot eXecution Environment (PXE_ v2.1
(C) Copright 1997-2000 Intel Corp.
PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable
PXE-M0F: Exiting PXE ROM.
Operating System not found

What does this mean? Is my harddrive toast? I popped it out and in
several times and I always get the same error. The only thing I can
think of is that I used an IDE to USB harddrive cable to get files of
it once while I was waiting for the repair. But it worked no problem.
I tried a second time and it sounded dead. No whirring sound, no
response, nothing. I have used the same cable on my harddrive from my
even older SONY laptop multiple times though and never had a problem.
Any solutions or am I screwed? Some friends recommended it might be a Bios boot order issue. I tried changing the the Harddrive to be first or second but it seems to have no change on the problem. Thank you!
cp
BIOS Guru

does the machine detect the hdd? make sure the bios has correctly detected the hdd and make sure it is number one in the boot queue.
the pxe thing is the network boot capabilty of the integrated NIC.
boaznb

How do I know if the computer detects the harddrive? I tried changing the boot order and there was absolutely no change. Based on a recomendation by someone else, I went into the Bios and disabled PXE which he said is really a network thing anyway and I'll never need it. I disabled it, and now all it says is that there is no operating system found. Any other ideas?
cp
BIOS Guru