Not sure if BIOS is affecting RAM

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
halldorr
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2003 5:37 am

I have a ASUS A7A266 mobo that supports up to 2GB DDR and 3GB SD RAM, I currently have two 512MB DDRs in the two slots but when I right click on my computer it tells me I have something like 728MB of RAM.

Might this be a BIOS issue? Here is some info about my system, it says the max RAM is 512 which is why I wondered if it was the BIOS.

BIOS ID: 08/20/2001-M1647
OEM Sign-On: ASUS A7A266 ACPI BIOS Revision 1006
BIOS Date: 08/20/01
BIOS Type: Award
Chipset: ALi M1647 rev 4
Super I/O: Unknown
OS: WinXP
BIOS ROM Socket: Yes
BIOS ROM Size: 256K
Memory Installed: 768 MB
Memory Max: 512 MB
CPU: AMD Athlon(TM) Processor 1400 Mhz MAX: 1200 Mhz
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

What utility did you use to test with?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
halldorr
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2003 5:37 am

Some utility from something support.com, I forget the site already

I managed to get the BIOS updated and all is well :)

The RAM issues was my fault as I had forgotten to replace one of the 256 with the 512 LOL

But everything is updated now.
Post Reply