Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG - FLASH PROBLEMS

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
Post Reply
runeyk
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:14 am

Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:21 am

Hi,
I've been trying unsuccessfully to upgrade my bios....I have the necessary files for flashing the bios, and i'm able to boot in DOS (DR DOS), but when I run the flash program, I get 'Insufficient Memory' error message (I have used the 'Tiny' flag in the bios flashing program to no avail). I have read that I could edit the 'config.sys' file to make changes to the memory, but I can't edit the file, I get the same 'Insufficient Memory' error. I've listed the details about my bios and the MB. Any help would be greatly apperciated.

BIOS/MB Info:

BIOS Date: 06/24/05
BIOS Type: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
BIOS ID: 06/24/2005-LakePort-6A79HSX9C-00
OEM Sign-On: Supermicro PDSLA/PDSLE BIOS Rev. 1.0a
Superio: NSC 332 rev 8 found at port 2Eh
CPU Type: Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU
CPU Speed: 2800 Mhz
CPU Max: 3800 Mhz
BIOS ROM In Socket: Yes
BIOS ROM Size: 512K
Memory Installed: 1024 MB
Memory Maximum: 4096 MB
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sat Jun 30, 2007 11:38 am

get the drdos bios flash disk (no drivers) here:
http://www.bootdisk.com

The error message indicates you are loading something like himem.sys or emm386.exe which is bad when bios flashing.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
runeyk
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:14 am

Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:10 pm

Thanks for your reply, I downloaded the 'drdos bios flash disk', added my necessary bios files (.exe & .bin) and unfortunately the same error that I saw before (Insufficient Memory) shows up again. I'm not sure i'm loading emm386.exe because when I try to run it, I believe it says that this has not been loaded. Any other suggestions?

Thank you
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Sun Jul 01, 2007 12:47 am

Did you actually run the bootdisk creator you just downloaded?

This should create a bootable floppy with nothing else loaded than absolutely needed to boot. You should just add the Bios files and a flash prog, nothing more.

What flash program did you use ?
runeyk
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:14 am

Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:36 pm

Yes I did download and run, but let me mention, that I do not have a floppy drive on my computer, so I had to download the Boot CD version. The flash program is 'awdflash.exe'. Thanks
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tue May 12, 2009 10:31 am

burn the image as an image, not as a file. if you use Nero and burn it as a file and make the CD bootable it will use a boot floppy with emm386 inside which is not what you want.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply