update for 1440EX-W83977-2A69JSHMC-00

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
manabenz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 7:39 pm

Hi Ppl

Despataley in need of an update for the above mentioned.
It's an Intel 440LX/EX chipset from SYE (Shining Yuan Enterprise)
http://www.sye.com.tw/ and http://www.luckytech.com.tw/
both of which are dead.

Anyone have the update.

TIA

Mayuresh
soupy
Absentee administrator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:06 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

P6LX7 - 04/14/1999-I440EX-W83977-2A69JSHMC-00 i440LX

Hmmm...Lucky Tech has this model name as well. I wonder if they made it. Is this your board?

http://www.cnd.ru/Products/MB/LuckyTech/P6LX7.htm
Flash your BIOS at your own risk.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

SYE = Luckytech. All the boards have the same names and bios strings.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
manabenz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 7:39 pm

soupy wrote:P6LX7 - 04/14/1999-I440EX-W83977-2A69JSHMC-00 i440LX

Hmmm...Lucky Tech has this model name as well. I wonder if they made it. Is this your board?

http://www.cnd.ru/Products/MB/LuckyTech/P6LX7.htm
Yes..perfect that's the board.
I infact had come across it yesterday.
However LucktTech's site makes no mention of any i440LX board.
I found this one working site for LuckyTech http://www.hyweb.com.tw/gallery/profolio/luckytech/
No mention at all of my board.

I'm also trying plasma-online.de
They have my exact board listed under SYE, but the bios update page leads to some russian link and hav'nt been able to proceed much futher than that.

I found this link..
http://babelfish.altavista.com/urltrurl ... endor%3D19

It's all garbled. I've downloaded everything I saw with an "L"
Anyone know which one is the right one out of these.

Is my board so prehistoric that no updates are available?

Mayuresh
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

The only BIOS releases I've managed to find are:
128KB (yours)
INTEL 440LX P6LX7 BIOS REV:C
04/14/1999-i440EX-W83977-2A69JSHMC-00

256KB
INTEL 440LX P6LX7 BIOS REV:D
04/19/1999-i440EX-W83977-2A69JSHOC-00

at: http://www.cnd.ru/Support/FTPList.asp?t ... TECH\P6LX7
manabenz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 7:39 pm

Thanks ajzchips

Can you in any way confirm that these are fine to be installed.
I just don't want to end up with no board coz I'm trying to arrange for another board for my celeron 366 but no luck so far.

Mayuresh
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

These are the correct updates. Yours is the 128KB version.
If the support you're looking for is recognition of HDDs over 32GB, then forget it. Neither of these versions will. But we can patch the BIOS for you to support upto 64GB if you wish.
manabenz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 7:39 pm

ajzchips wrote:These are the correct updates. Yours is the 128KB version.
If the support you're looking for is recognition of HDDs over 32GB, then forget it. Neither of these versions will. But we can patch the BIOS for you to support upto 64GB if you wish.
WHOA :lol:
That would be damm neat.
I infact did try the one you pointed out.
As you mentioned, it did not get my 40gig.
What was surprising is that the Bios date at the bottom left during mem check did not change at all :?:
What I was more intrested in was trying to get rid of a nasty winXP bug which keeps dumping a BSOD on me with a hardware error which MS acknowledges to be a bug. THey suggested that I update my BIOS.

I think the bug will take care of itself in the upcoming Service Pack, but 40 gig support would'nt hurt.

SHould I mail you my bios dump?

Mayuresh
manabenz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 7:39 pm

Hi

I've kept my BIOS dump here.
http://mayuresh.marhost.com/uploads/savebios.zip

I've also kept it on
http://mayuresh.netfirms.com/uploads/savebios.des
Pls just rename the .des extension to .zip since netfirms do not allow .zip files.

I would appreciate it if you could give me that 40 gig support.
TIA

Mayuresh
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

The Marhost file is corrupt, FYI.

Anyway, the patched version of your BIOS is here:
http://wims.rainbow-software.org/ajz/

Disclaimer:
Please remember that we at Wim's cannot guarantee 100% success. The risk of flashing the patched BIOS is solely yours. All we ask from you is feedback regarding the success/failure of this patched release.
manabenz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 7:39 pm

Thanks a TON.

Marhost was giving problems, so I had put it up at netfirms as well.
nevermind....

I will try out your bios update tonight and I'll post whatever the results.
Thanks again.

Mayuresh
manabenz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 7:39 pm

It worked...
Flashed it, took of the limiting jumper and WHOA....more 5gb to play with.

Thanks ajzchips
You've been a big help.

btw...I think I have also managed to sort out that winXP problem giving me BSOD's on startup. I think it's my sound card which was causing it.
So got both things sorted out yesterday. :D

Thanks for your help again.
Much appreciated.

Mayuresh
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Care to tell which soundcard and how it was solved? We might want to know...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
manabenz
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 7:39 pm

sound card: ess1868

It was nothing more than trial and error.

I searched the MS knowledgebase and found out that it is a problem with XP Pro, Home and 64bit. They suggested that I start ripping my comp out and start testing each adapter etc etc...

I tested my sis6326 8mb, my memory, my data cables etc etc...everything but my sound card on 2 of my frinds machines.
They ran perfectly. Never thought that a sound card can cause so much havoc. Then I went and borrowed a second hand 440BX from a local dealer to test it. I was sure by this time that it was my motherboard which was screwing up and I was looking to replcae it with this test board. When this test board started heating up unusually, I took it off and put my board in. Since my friend wanted something from my hdd quick, we connected without the soundcard and for 3 restarts it worked just fine. Then I put it in and VOILA...bule screen. Now I'm running it for over 36 hours and over 30 restarts without my ess and it's running just fine.

How i solved it:
I'm using my friends yamaha card :D
Kicks butt compared to my ess.

Mayuresh
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Manabenz, you realize this is the kind of feedback we truly appreciate and NEED. Thanks for your cooperation :)
Post Reply