Compaq i440BX board

How-to identify your motherboard ?
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

I have a Compaq board that does not work (I've heard that the BIOS was badly flashed).
It's ATX board (the connectors on the back are not standard ATX), made in 1998, Slot 1, i440BX chipset, 3xDIMM, AGP, 4xPCI, 2xISA. There are very BIG capacitors near the Slot 1 and there is also a big heatsink for the voltage regulator transistors. There are 6 DIP switches and a clear CMOS jumper.
There is also a label, which says:
166813-001 *P1637AKDEGXC2Z* 009635-101
009636 ASSEMBLED IN MALAYSIA REV AK

The most weird thing is that the "BIOS ROM" (yes, it's marked as ROM) is not a standard type. It's PLCC (soldered, of course...) marked with unknown logo and:
27871
-101
9827GBA J
(M) COMPAQ
I'm afraid that it really is a ROM, not flashable.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Here's the scan (bad because of the large capacitors and heatsink):
Image
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

I found this -

http://electrospec-inc.com/part/search. ... &x=66&y=18

Looks like it might be an AMD chip...but couldn't find anything on their website in the few moments I spent there.

9827 is probably the date code, so it can't be that old...
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

I've been told that there was as PII 350 CPU there. I suspect that it's from Compaq DeskPro EN or EP or SP, model 6350. I've found 3 different ROMs for these - 686T1, 686T2 and 686T3.
The logo on the chip is badly-done AMD. The WE# pin is connected so it should be flashable.
Now it will wait until I buy a PLCC socket to make an adapter to access the Flash ROM without complete desoldering.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

What's printed just below the big Compaq Logo in the top left ?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Something's missing in the lower left corner.

Image

An that would be Deskpro EP series indeed.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Missing? What - I haven't noticed anything.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Looks like the system "speaker" is missing the cover...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Removed the flash ROM and inserted into c't Flasher (using homemade PLCC-to-DIP adapter). It did not work unless I set the voltage to 12V. Then it detected as "Am29F002(N)(B)T/5V". The BIOS inside was f***ed up - a piece of code & COMPAQ string + date repeating a few times. The chip itself is OK - new BIOS flashed correctly - but the board does not work. I've tried 686T1 and 686T2 BIOSes from Compaq and also some 256KB Award BIOS for some i440BX board (randomly chosen from the Award BETA BIOSes). It does not start at all - no POST codes... :roll:
The most weird thing is that the VPP pin on the board is connected to a pad on the back of the board. There is second pad connected to 12V next to this one. But these two pads were NOT connected together - so the VPP pin of the chip was not connected. So I don't know how anyone could flash it :?:
The address pins are directly connected to ISA bus, data goes through 74LS245 - maybe it's bad...
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Rainbow wrote:The most weird thing is that the VPP pin on the board is connected to a pad on the back of the board. There is second pad connected to 12V next to this one. But these two pads were NOT connected together - so the VPP pin of the chip was not connected. So I don't know how anyone could flash it :?:
I seem to remember Nokia/ICL doing this on some of their boards. Presumably in the factory it was put on a jig/bed-of-nails.
Tested patched BIOSes. Untested patched BIOSes.
Emails *will* be ignored unless the subject line starts "Wim's BIOS forum"
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

The unbelievable thing is how the contents of the Flash ROM became corrupted... I've been told that it was badly flashed. I've saved a backup before flashing a correct BIOS there. I've splitted it into 4 64KB blocks and compared them - they're the same - no differences.
The board does not work with any BIOS - that leads me to one thing - something more must have happened, not only a bad flash.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Toby B
Compaq-Fu Master
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 11:36 am
Location: Augusta, ME
Contact:

This is rather interesting.
a piece of code & COMPAQ string + date repeating a few times
You think there is/was anything useful there for tracking the board to a manufacturer?

Would be interested in knowing.

PS the board is a CR120 motherboard:

This is about all we have right now.
front panel

xxxx.xx
xx

power ledpower switch jumpered
HDD LED
+ on the left
Compaq-Fu Master
skinnie
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:47 pm

Hi,sorry to put this thread up,can anybody tell me if this board supports 40gb hdds?where can I find the latest bios for it?I've searched in compaq site and nothing..
edit: mine has agp,3pcis and 3 isas..
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

hp support and search for deskpro EP if this is indeed the same board you have. What is the compaq part number &replacement part number?

xxxxxx-xxx numbers
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
skinnie
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:47 pm

I have this numbers:
332857-001 and 008312-101
I need the manual and a bios that can support 40gb ide :s
edit: it is this motherboard http://www0.uk.shopping.com/xPF-Compaq-20244732
edit2: this is the page http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/Te ... OID=20#290

but now how do I flash the thing?fro what I read it is completely different from "normal" pcs...and how do I know wich bios to choose?
Post Reply