IBM Thinkpad 600E bios mod for processor update

Don't ask how to hack password. (BIOS Passwords)
Sharedoc
Notebook Genius

Pincellone,

Congratulations for finding a 850MHz CPU, they are difficult to find.

SpeedStep ASIC is 724661-002. Cut folio coming out from pin 4 top-right (around 1400 hours). Cut before the first dot.

Then on other side connect north end of R1 to +end of C13 with a 2.2k resistor.
pincellone
New visitors - please read the rules.

Sharedoc,

Thank you very much for your support. I'm a true newbie and I would really appreciate if somebody could show your mod on the pictures that I posted in order to prevent any error.

With regard to the processor, I bought it on Ebay, I believe there are still a few of them available for sale.
zandirgator
BIOS Newbie

What will you use the ASM code for?
Williham

Hey im just wondering, you guys are all upgrading your laptops from pentium 2 366 up to way higher speed pentium 3s. What are you doing for cooling? cus i would have thought that a pentium 3 850mhz would not last long on a pentium 2 366mhz cooler, and you cant usualy shove a bigger hsf into a laptop because of space!
Williham

Also would any of these mods work on a thinkpad 770Z?
Sharedoc
Notebook Genius

Zandirgator,

I am writing this ASM program for the purpose of teaching assembly language programming to students.
Sharedoc
Notebook Genius

Williham,
P3's run cooler than P2's, so no big problems with cooling unless you overclock a lot.

As far as I remember 770Z can be updated to P3. See page 2 (Pkiff)
Williham

Awesome!
Thank you! 8)
squink

First of all, thanks to everyone on this board. You've inspired me in so many ways with the ideas that we can modify and upgade our laptops. How sharedoc figured this out in the first place is absolutely beyond me, but I digress.