Biostar M7MIA Bios upgrade problem

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
NJKEV4FUN
New visitors - please read the rules.

Hi all,
Yeah....I know this is an old Mobo...but I am setting it up for my young kids. It is the Biostar M7IA REV 1.1 MoBo. I won't go into WHY I wanted to upgrade the BIOS..I just would like to know WHY when upgrading from the MIA1228F.BIN to the (Biostar recommended) MIA1101F.BIN using their FLASHER, the board POSTS but then hangs.....loss of keyboard....no boot off drives possible.... etc. I tried the clear CMOS too...with no luck. Interestingly, the .BIN is obviously "good", and therefore prevents any attempt of resroring the original BIOS. However, I am an engineer...and have a BP programmer...and was able program the origninal BIOS. I also did a HEX-compare of the MIA1101F.BIN file to what I wrote to it with the FLASHER...and the contents of the BOOT BLOCK did not match...(and of course they may not)....but the sector ahead of the BOOT BLOCK did not match either.
Is it possible that I have to simply re-program the MIA1101F.BIN using my BP programmer, or is this newer BIOS simply not compatible with my REV 1.1 Mobo (Biostar says it is!!)?? Anyone have knowledge on this matter?
Any HELPFUL comments are welcome...
Thanks,
Kevin
KURIAKI

NJKEV4FUN wrote:I just would like to know WHY when upgrading from the MIA1228F.BIN to the (Biostar recommended) MIA1101F.BIN using their FLASHER, the board POSTS but then hangs.....loss of keyboard....no boot off drives possible.... etc.
Your old BIOS MIA1228F.BIN looks like an OEM BIOS for other vendor.
It's a brand system?
More than 100,000 BIOS strings in my database just now!
http:/ /www.kuriaki.has.it/
http:/ /www.supportbios.info
------------------------------------------
Saludos desde Cancun, Mexico
KURIAKI
NJKEV4FUN

Hi KURIAKI,