1440x900 on ECS L4S5MG/GL

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
Post Reply
hhyh
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:50 pm

I have read the guide about how to update sis650 video bios to support 1440x900 on Wimsbios.
The vbios embedded in the latest bios I got from ECS is ver. 1.01.00 (size 48K). But the new bios is ver. 2.30.01 (size 32K).
On the forum, I saw someone complained that the machine cannot boot up when changing 48K vbios to 32K. And he use a special cbrom for Asus to solve it.
But in my case I cound not use this Asus cbrom.
Is there any way to build a correct patched BIOS for L4S5MG/GL.

Here is the link to get the lastest bios from ECS

http://www.ecs.com.cn/ECSWebSite/Downlo ... =4&LanID=2

Thanks'
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

the download link isn't working. can you please post the BIOS string as there are ~10 different L4S5MG mainboard variants. and please post the silkscreened model and pcb version, too. you can find them on the mainboard.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6231
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

using firefox it is redirecting me to an exe file l4s5mg11k.exe but you can also get it here:
http://www.e4allupgraders.info/dir1/mot ... oads.shtml
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
hhyh
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:50 pm

The link works at my side. Try this one:

http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Downlo ... =3&LanID=0

I don't known its bios string exactly. The mainboard model is L4S5MG/GL Rev 1.0. From ECS's website, it seems L4S5MG/GL uses the same bios as L4S5MG.
I saw a patched bios for L4S5MG/651+ in the download page, but since bios for L4S5MG and L4S5MG/651+ are different, so I'm afraid this patched bios may not work on my board .
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

link is working fine now. it's the same file i already found myself yesterday. but then i wasn't sure if it's the correct one for your mainboard. i'll patch it and upload it to our site asap.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

get it while it's hot ;) and please report back with the results. thanks.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
hhyh
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:50 pm

Great! 1440x900 works fine now.
Thanks!!!
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

you're welcome :) and thanks again for reporting back!
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
Post Reply