1440x900 not supported on SIS661FX Chipset

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
Post Reply
Seazn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:24 am

Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:34 am

I've bought a new monitor but there's no option for a 1440x900 screen resolution.

I've read previous topics but can't find a solution (apart from the BIOS that were emailed). I've updated my video drivers to the latest UniVGA3 3.85 but still it's not working up.

My VBIOS version is at 2.21.00 which is below the required 2.28.00 so that's probably where I'm lacking. The BIOS is manufactured by AMI by the looks of it (when I enter BIOS setup). However, I can't find any updated versions.

Thanks in advance for the help! I'll post more information if needed~

EDIT: My Motherboard is a NEC P5S800-VM. Would link to the webpage but can't :X

Motherboard ID: 63-0204-009999-00101111-101405-SIS661FX$A0285001_BIOS DATE: 10/14/05 11:33:06 VER: 08.00.09
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:50 pm

get a bios update here:
http://support.asus.com/download/downlo ... =P5S800-VM

if the update doesn't work check the file you found at the NEC site for its version. maybe its already newer than the current bios.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
Seazn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:24 am

Mon Jun 22, 2009 2:41 am

cp wrote:get a bios update here:
http://support.asus.com/download/downlo ... =P5S800-VM

if the update doesn't work check the file you found at the NEC site for its version. maybe its already newer than the current bios.
It didn't work, says the ID is incompatible with the current BIOS' ID.

I found my latest BIOS over at Packard Bell, they call it Santiago v2.04. I can't link directly but I'll try anyway~

http://support.packardbell.com/uk/item/ ... eloce_ipro

I checked the installer, it basically makes a CD into a boot disk with AFUDOS and the BIOS then gives it a text-interface. I got the same ID error when I replaced the BIOS with the one over at ASUS' site.


Edit - Fixed links for the OP. KW
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Mon Jun 22, 2009 6:55 pm

i'll have a look though it can take some time since my laptop recently died.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
Seazn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:24 am

Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:25 pm

cp wrote:i'll have a look though it can take some time since my laptop recently died.
Thanks for putting in the effort!

Another thing that's strange is that when I use the ASUS Update Utility instead, it says the model is different even though it shows in the information that they're the same.

Image

edit : fixed code cp
Seazn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:24 am

Fri Jun 26, 2009 6:45 pm

Just to update, I'm having the same problem as these guys on a previous thread:

http://www/wimsbios.com/phpBB2/topic9774.html


Edit - Fixed link for the OP. KW
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:42 am

sorry for the long delay. the patched bios is available on our download page. please report back with the results. thanks :)
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
Seazn
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:24 am

Sat Jul 11, 2009 9:23 pm

cp wrote:sorry for the long delay. the patched bios is available on our download page. please report back with the results. thanks :)
It worked! Thanks a ton, cp! It was worth the wait ;D
topano
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:38 pm

Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:44 pm

I'm experiensing the same problem with a P5S800-VM mb from Asus. I've installed the latest driver from Sis (version 3.90) but I can't still have the correct resolution on my wide screen monitor. Can you help me?

Thanks in advance
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Sat Oct 24, 2009 7:27 pm

topano wrote:I'm experiensing the same problem with a P5S800-VM mb from Asus. I've installed the latest driver from Sis (version 3.90) but I can't still have the correct resolution on my wide screen monitor. Can you help me?

Thanks in advance
If you have a retail mainboard please try the latest Bios from Asus. If you have a modified OEM-version contact your vendor for a new Bios.
Post Reply