need help for asus p4sp-mx vbios

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6231
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Mon Nov 24, 2008 2:23 pm

ttdc0078 wrote:
smallhonhon wrote:ASUS P4SP/MX
Need updated bios for wide screen support

Many Thanks!!
I also have such problem.
Please send me the update vbios with installation
guide as this is my little brother's computer.
I don't want to break it.

Anyway, many thanks!!!!!!
Awaiting your good news soon.
what part didn't you get?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
cutri
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:51 am

Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:54 am

hi CP
Like few other people on this forum i have problem with my igp SIS651.
I tried all that I saw on this forum but still can't get 1wide resolution on my Samsung 933.
I use last bios from
ftp://ftp.asus.com.tw/pub/ASUS/mb/sock4 ... x/1006.zip


chip type: SIS651
adapter string: Mirage
BIOS information: 1.10.08

MB ASUS P4SP/MX
can anybody help?

Thanks in advance
fugas
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 5:58 pm

Tue May 25, 2010 6:02 pm

Hi, I'm having the same problem, VBIOS information is old.

Could you help me, please?
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Tue May 25, 2010 7:53 pm

fugas wrote:Hi, I'm having the same problem, VBIOS information is old. Could you help me, please?
Ever tried to read the Announcement thread ?!?
elka7779
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 2:42 am

Mon Jun 07, 2010 2:49 am

Hi, the problem is that I cannot set resolution 1920*1080.

Motherboard: ASUS P4SP-MX
BIOS installed from here: http://www.wimsbios.com/files/vgabiospatched/bios.jsp
1440*900 present, but 1920*1080 absent.

Can you help me?
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Mon Jun 07, 2010 11:16 pm

AFAIR not supported by the SIS Video Bios your Windows driver relies on. Max probably is 1680x1050.
elka7779
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 2:42 am

Tue Jun 08, 2010 8:23 pm

In this thread, as I understood, SIS Video Bios was modified to support 1440*900, while it was not supported in vbios ver 1005. Video ram on my chip can be used up to 64Mb, it is enough to support 1920*1080*32bit, so I think that it is possible to make modification to support 1920*1080.
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Wed Jun 09, 2010 1:16 pm

elka7779 wrote:In this thread, as I understood, SIS Video Bios was modified to support 1440*900, while it was not supported in vbios ver 1005. Video ram on my chip can be used up to 64Mb, it is enough to support 1920*1080*32bit, so I think that it is possible to make modification to support 1920*1080.
No, it's not possible unless SIS delivers a Video Bios supporting this resolution. All we are able to do without risking to crash your Bios is to exchange the old video Bios with a newer one supporting several widescreen resolutions.
Please blame SIS for this video Bios support policy and for the bad vga drivers requiring a recent video bios to support widescreen resolutions.
elka7779
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 2:42 am

Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:20 pm

Thank you for advise. So you just replaced video bios to newer one in 1006_patch? Where can I get this video bioses? Where can I write my request to add resolution I need?
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:40 pm

So you just replaced video bios to newer one in 1006_patch?
yes, that is exactly what we did (and still do on many other bioses).
Where can I get this video bioses?
there's no official way. we just hacked them out of other mainboard bioses that already had them included. if you are a large OEM you can always ask SIS to support you with a recent version. but since you're posting here my educated guess is that you're not...
Where can I write my request to add resolution I need?
go over to SIS' website and hit the contact button. read the text written in large red letters, head over to your OEM's site and write them a nice email.
even if your OEM is one of the best (and ASUS surely is) when it comes to support, i doubt that they will put much effort in a piece of hardware that's already 6+ years old.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
Post Reply