compaq armada 1580 bios sees 48mb out of 64mb module

Is your memory not fully recognized? (Intel VX chipset Memory recognition)
Post Reply
maxwell7000
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 11:46 pm

Fri Dec 26, 2008 12:10 am

hi

i upgraded memory in armada 1580 with compatible 64mb module and bios sees 48mb out of 64mb
armada has 16mb on board so i have total memory of 64mb, armada 1580 supports 80mb

is this a bios problem or something else

when i boot it's 65536kb memory
have win2000 pro installed, everything is working fine but where did go 16mb, should be 80mb

Operating System System Model
Windows 2000 Professional (build 2195) Compaq Armada 1580DT
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
145 megahertz Intel Pentium w/MMX BIOS: Compaq 586P 10/28/97
Drives Memory Modules c,d

thank you
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:48 pm

Something is not right about your "compatible" memory module, that's for sure.

And the max for this particular model is 144MB, not 80:
http://www.memoryx.net/pc6-1979.html
http://www.satech.com/compaq-notebook-m ... emory.html
even though some people claim it only supports 80:
http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts. ... a%201580DT
because compaq says so:
http://partsurfer.hp.com/cgi-bin/spi/ma ... catsel=%3F
(no 128MB module listed there).

edit by cp: fixed link (thanks KachiWachi :))
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
maxwell7000
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 11:46 pm

Sat Dec 27, 2008 1:50 am

i've bought it as compatible

manufacture is toshiba made in japan, and it's brand new

i was looking at 128mb but i wasn't sure if it's working so i went for safety 64mb,

i'm trying to figure out is the bios problem or memory

is there a safe way to test memory with some software

here is what bios says
Memory :

Memory Boards Identified:
System Board . . . . . . . . . 16 Megabytes
DIMM Slot 1 (EDO) . . . . . 48 Megabytes
Total Compaq Memory . . . . . . 64 Megabytes

Base Memory
System Total . . . . . . . . . 639 Kbytes
Amount Free . . . . . . . . . 558 Kbytes (572112 Bytes)

Extended Memory
Amount Free . . . . . . . . . 64512 Kbytes

Expanded Memory
LIM Driver Support . . . . . . LIM driver not loaded
System Configuration Memory
00 - 0F : 58 00 28 00 23 00 03 25 12 08 26 82 50 80 00 00
10 - 1F : 40 F2 F0 10 03 80 02 00 3C 41 00 00 00 30 63 00
20 - 2F : 00 00 00 00 7E 29 00 40 00 93 02 45 04 00 05 8C
30 - 3F : 00 3C 20 80 00 01 XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sat Dec 27, 2008 11:59 am

Return that memory module, it is either broken or incompatible. I leave it up to you if you want to try another 64MB module or a 128MB one. Just make sure you buy from a reputable dealer this time.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply