Flash Bios Evo D300v

Is your memory not fully recognized? (Intel VX chipset Memory recognition)
Post Reply
Alfango
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Sat Jul 23, 2011 11:04 pm

Hi.

According to my PC case, I have a Compaq Presario 4705la, but it's not even listed in the supported systems. Instead, Crucial.com report says I have an Evo D300v (this one does appear there).

I want to upgrade my RAM with two cards of 512MB each. The problem is that when I plug them, the system doesn't even start. I presume this is a BIOS update issue. I downloaded the BIOS ROMpaq from http://goo.gl/KG0QP, created the disk, and the Flash program starts but it says "This system is not supported by the specified driver". I tried with the ROMpaq for other similar systems (like Evo D310v) but it didn't work.

Well, at least I can use one of my cards, but I'd hate to lose the money I paid for the second one. Here is the Crucial.com report I got. http://goo.gl/OfmKV

Thanks in advance for you help.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:38 am

This is the page for your bios upgrade:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/soft ... 92821#N168
and yes it is sharing the same bios as the Evo D300v (NR110.ROM), IF the original board is still in your system.

This board is a special version of the Lite-On NR110:
http://www.motherboards.org/mobot/mothe ... -On/NR110/

Officially that should hold 3GB maximum (1GB per slot), so if your sticks are not working, you got the wrong kind of memory cards. I have checked the crucial website and notice something strange. Even it says the system can hold maximum 3GB, the maximum per slot is 512MB so with only 3 slots, the maximum is 1.5GB
http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts. ... Hz&Cat=RAM

Nonetheless, if your memory cards are different from what is listed on that Crucial page, chances are they will not work. Oh, you did check the memory cards in a different system already to make sure they are not broken in the first place?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Alfango
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:48 am

Thanks,

I followed your instructions. I could install the BIOS, and plug the third card (528MB). Remember that I have a 128MB one plus a recently installed 528MB), but this is what happened then: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/330181.

Should I upgrade my OS? If so, i would prefer to install Linux.

Thanks again for your help.

PD.: I bought two memory cards, 528MB each one. System works normally when I use only one of these cards, no matter wich one, so I think the problem is not related with a card damage.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Mon Jul 25, 2011 2:55 pm

so, this is what you are seeing?

1x 512MB (old) = ok
1x 512MB (new) = ok
128MB + 1x 512MB (old) = ok
128MB + 1x 512MB (new) = ok
2x 512MB = crash

If you are using 1x 512MB during windows setup and then later add the other 512MB is it working?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Alfango
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Mon Jul 25, 2011 3:50 pm

Yes, that's what I'm seeing (just that both 512MB cards are new).

And yes, that happens when both cards are plugged.

It's like there is a RAM limit of less than 1GB.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Jul 26, 2011 2:19 pm

What version of Windows are you using?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Alfango
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:26 pm

Windows XP Home SP3

By the way, I installed Ubuntu 11.04 and when I plugged the third card, system starts booting, crashes and restart forever.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:08 pm

Please try just the 512MB cards.

1 card A in slot 1
2 card B in slot 1
3 card A in slot 1, card B in slot 2
4 card B in slot 1, card A in slot 2

and tell me the results with Ubuntu.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Alfango
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Thu Aug 04, 2011 6:11 pm

I got upset with so many tests, so I went with my hardware dealer and he just replaced one 512MB card by two of 256MB. Now my PC has one 512MB card and two of 256MB.

I guess now I'll have to give away my 128MB card.

Thank you so much for your help.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:00 am

OK, so for some reason this board does not like more than one 512MB module in there. Thank you for reporting back, maybe somebody else out there is having the same problem.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
juanita988
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 8:52 am

Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:01 am

Hi,
I have Compaq Evo d300v system in my office. I had installed windows xp on it. To upgrade the system I had installed a 512 RAM on it. But after putting the RAM the system does not boot at all. So I replace the old RAM. But a series of problem emerged after that time. First of all I am not able to boot from a CD. Even after giving a boot priority device in the cmos my system is booting straight from hard drive. o I played a bit with the BIOS. Now I am getting a error message. S Invalid electronic serial number 162-Options Not Set. Please help.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:08 am

this is supposed to work for all HP/Compaq business models:
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/Te ... sId=316720
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply