M571 V3.2A +RAM PC133

Is your memory not fully recognized? (Intel VX chipset Memory recognition)
Post Reply
muhon_zen
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 6:25 am

Sat Apr 19, 2003 1:29 am

I have a TXPRO II (PC Chips). Model: M571 V.3.2A. I would like to know if my board supports PC133 RAM Memmory. I am already using PC100.
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Sat Apr 19, 2003 3:16 am

The M571 supports all SDRAM speedgrades but it's limited to 128MB sticks
The only working 128MB sticks are double sided ones with 16 memory chips
It might be possible that higher capacity sticks are working but with capacity cut in half or quartered
apple_rom
Use my patch at your own risk!!
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 11:39 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Sat Apr 19, 2003 10:10 pm

About memory. SiS5597 (TXpro II) support 64Mbit-technology -> means can run with memory up to 256Mb/16chips (doubleside), 128Mb/8chips (singleside) etc.
rmay635703
Chip off the ol' block
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:25 pm

Mon Apr 21, 2003 6:42 pm

Yep ditto on the speedgrades but

apple_roms assumption that 256mb 16chip "low density" dimms work on the m571 isn't entirely correct. The latest m571 bios has major issues with timing on large dimms 128mb+ and usually won't post with a 256mb 16chip low density dimm. (I have tried 12 different brand 256mb low density dimms that all work properly in an intel TX system but fail on the m571, others have tried and failed on the lottery as well)

The work around I have found (if you don't mind using an old cyrix chip and a HD overlay) is to use the old m567 bios on the m571 as it correctly supports large SDRAM dimms without being extremely picky or unstable.

This issue as been beaten to death on the lottery by the way.

Apple_roms would you be willing to take the m567 bios and see what routines it uses for ram handling? Maybe you could overlay parts of the new m571 bios so the old one so you could get a bios that would both support large dimms and k6-2's with bigger hds as opposed to lots of ram but slow cpus or fast cpus but less ram.

Cheers
Ryan
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Mon Apr 21, 2003 7:31 pm

I had M571LMR board. With 64MB module (8 chips), it ran fine. However with 128MB module (8 chips), it counted 128MB and hanged there. Nasty BIOS bug. I sold it together with the 64MB module.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
apple_rom
Use my patch at your own risk!!
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 11:39 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Mon Apr 21, 2003 10:41 pm

Apple_roms would you be willing to take the m567 bios and see what routines it uses for ram handling? Maybe you could overlay parts of the new m571 bios so the old one so you could get a bios that would both support large dimms and k6-2's with bigger hds as opposed to lots of ram but slow cpus or fast cpus but less ram.
I can to do this with Award (i was try and all fine work with like problem for VIA VPX), but can`t with AMI (at this time). But you can sent to me (k6-2@narod.ru) bioses from M571/M567 - i will try...
Post Reply