1366 x 768 on Acer Aspire SA85 with SiS 661FX chipset

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
Post Reply
kuenming
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 4:36 am

Mon Jun 24, 2013 5:05 am

I have a problem with an acer aspire sa85 SiS 661FX(661FX-M7) Bios R01-D0
Driver software version v 3.93 windows XP
My monitor has a 1366 x 768 resolution.

Need of patched BIOS
Here's link on BIOS I'm using
http://twcsddl.acer.com.tw/acerdl/uploa ... R01-D0.zip

thank you help
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:11 pm

Original vbios is 2.30, now is 2.49

I think it's based on the ECS SF2/661FX however you cannot flash the SF2 bios on this board. I have attached a patched bios, use at your own risk but please report back if it works.
Attachments
A6M768p.zip
acer aspire sa85 with 6330 vbios v2.49
(261.26 KiB) Downloaded 223 times
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
kuenming
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 4:36 am

Tue Jun 25, 2013 6:07 am

it not works

windows screen with black bars top and bottom,
monerr1.jpg
windows xp Screen Resolution 1366x768
my monitor information show 1280x1024
monerr2.jpg
thank you help
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Tue Jun 25, 2013 11:59 pm

Please uninstall the SIS VGA drivers, reboot and reinstall them.
Please verify which version of the SIS VGA Bios is reported (small tool installed by the driver package).
kuenming
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 4:36 am

Wed Jun 26, 2013 3:57 am

I try uninstall the SIS VGA drivers, reboot and reinstall ,but no improvement

SIS VGA Bios:2.49.00
monerr3.jpg
Best regards,
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:27 am

If I am not mistaken that is an Acer P191W that you are using:
http://panam.acer.com/acerpanam/monitor ... 1sp2.shtml

set the resolution for 1440x900, that is the native resolution for it, with an aspect ratio of 16:10. If you set it for 1366x768 it has an aspect ratio of 16:9 which means the height is too short resulting in black lines on top and bottom indeed.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graphics_d ... resolution
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
kuenming
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 4:36 am

Thu Jun 27, 2013 10:55 am

My Monitor is Acer P196HQL
http://www.extrememachine.in/ACER-P196H ... nitor.html

The Native Resolution is 1366 x 768,Aspect Ratio Is 16:9


Best regards,
Post Reply