Gigabyte 8S661FXMP-RZ widescreen 1440x900

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
Post Reply
mitre
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:45 am

Hi,

I know this has been asked before in a post from last year (Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 3:16 am Post subject: Updating VBIOS) but some of the links in this now seem to be dead.

I have a Gigabyte 8S661FXMP-RZ motherboard with on board graphics. I want to use a resolution of 1440 x 900. To do this I believe I need to upgrade the VBIOS from version 2.02.00 to 2.28.00 before installing a new driver.

How do I upgrade my VBIOS from version 2.02.00 to 2.28.00?? I've flashed the bios on the PC but the VBIOS version doesn't change.

Thanks

edited by cp: changed subject
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6271
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

I've flashed the bios on the PC but the VBIOS version doesn't change.
the latest gigabyte one or the one on the DOWNLOAD PAGE here?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
mitre
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:45 am

Thanks for the reply Edwin,

I have already updated the bios with the Gigabyte 8S661FXMP BIOS vF3 download but the vbios version doesn't change. I've downloaded the vF4 version but when I try to load it I get the error 'Bios ID check error' when loading file 661XM775.F4

When I updated to vF3 should the vbios version not have changed as well?

Thanks
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

do not try to flash the F4 bios! it's not made for your board.
did you download the bios from our download page? are you sure you really flashed the bios? (not from within windows (!!!), not just a DOSbox, but with a real bootdisk and a plain good old DOS/FreeDOS?)
i just double checked the vbios version in the patched file from our download page: 2.49.00
and YES, it should change to 2.49.00 if the patched bios is flashed correctly.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
mitre
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:45 am

I went to http://www.wimsbios.com/files/vgabiospatched/bios.jsp and downloaded Gigabyte 8S661FXM BIOS vF4 and then tried to flash the bios via the bios menu at boot up, and a floppy disk with the bios file on - but it failed (maybe that was a good thing!)

Prior to that I flashed the bios with the vF3 file from the Gigabyte site, the bios updated OK and the bios version number changed (at boot up) but once in XP the video bios version stayed at 2.02.00

What file should I be downloading and how should I update the vbios?

Thanks for you assistance
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

I have a Gigabyte 8S661FXMP-RZ motherboard with on board graphics.
downloaded Gigabyte 8S661FXM BIOS vF4
hmm..i don't quite get why you downloaded the patched bios for a 8S661FXM when your mainboard is a 8S661FXMP (notice the extra 'P' at the end?). it sure was a good thing that you didn't suceed in flashing that bios.
Prior to that I flashed the bios with the vF3 file from the Gigabyte site, the bios updated OK and the bios version number changed (at boot up) but once in XP the video bios version stayed at 2.02.00
so why don't you download the patched vF3 bios from our site then? by flashing it the video bios will be updated to 2.30.00 and you'll have widescreen support. the patched bios is clearly marked 8S661FXMP on our download site. it's not that hard to find. *puzzled*
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6271
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

does this also work for the -RZ subvariety of this board?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Gigabyte has the following boards with SIS661FX chipset:

8S661FXME-RZ
8S661FXMP-RZ
8S661FXM-RZ
GA-8S661FXM
GA-8S661FXM-F

sorry i omitted the -RZ on the name. or to say it even clearer: there are only -RZ variants and our patched bioses work for them :)
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
mitre
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:45 am

Not sure what I was thinking!! But anyway I've downloaded the vF3, patched it and now have widescreen.

Thanks very much for your help 'cp'
Post Reply