SiS 1440x900 issue: couldn't find patched bios

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
Post Reply
rgr
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 3:42 pm

Sun Dec 27, 2009 3:52 pm

So it seems I'm not the only with issues with the widescreen monitor resolution. I'm not completely useless with computers but some of this stuff is a bit out of my reach... I had already updated to the latest graphics drivers from the SiS website but started to struggle with the all the bios / vbios details. Below are the results of the BiosAgentPlus scan:

BIOS Type: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
BIOS ID: 10/08/2005-SiS-760-6A7I7FKAC-00
BIOS Date: 20051008
BIOS Vendor: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
BIOS Version: 6.00 PG
BIOS Size: 524288
Chipset: SiS 760 rev 3
SuperIO: ITE 8705/SiS 950 rev 3 at port 002E
OEM Sign-on: WinFast 760GXK8MC Series 54EW1P23 100805
Base Manufacturer: WinFast
Base Product: 760GXK8MC

Currently the SiS control panel lists the driver as 3.90 (I just updated it) and BIOS as 2.03.00 which obviously needs to be updated. Can anyone please assist with where I am to go from here?

Many thanks!
rgr
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 3:42 pm

Sun Dec 27, 2009 4:48 pm

Further to this, the SiS panel actually says BIOS (OEM ProductRev) = 2.03.00

http://www.wimsbios.com/forum/topic9748.html In there it mentioned OEM so thought I would mention it even if it turns out to be irrelevant.
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:22 pm

can you provide a bios dump (and a link to download it) or a bios download link?
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Thu Jun 24, 2010 1:38 pm

Winfast/Foxconn same stuff, Winfast used for their AMD line of boards.

http://www.foxconnchannel.com/support/d ... -us0000424
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
cp
BIOS Guru
Posts: 1914
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Germany

Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:46 pm

just for the record: patched bios available on our download site for quite a while already.
If you email me include [WIMSBIOS] in the subject.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Jun 29, 2010 9:42 am

yeah, this was just for completeness sake. I've been doing a bit of catching up the past few days.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply