SIS card Problem Help !

Video, SCSI, modem, CDROM/CDR/CDRW, etc.
aggiy2k
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 11:57 pm
Contact:

Hi !

Please help me , i have SIS 6326 8 Mb onboard AGP GRaphics card . But my graphics card does not except all latest games such as Medal of Honor , Half Hife , fifa 2002 etc . Please help me how can i play all these games ? . Looking for your help .

Thanks

Aggi
Always Smile :)
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Well, the SiS VGA you have isn't real 3D VGA, but anyway, if it's integrated, then you might want to flash to the latest BIOS to get the latest VGA firmware in there.
Also, try updating the SiS VGA drivers to the latest version.
soupy
Absentee administrator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:06 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Buy a new video card. Sorry.
Flash your BIOS at your own risk.
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Soupy's advise would be the wisest decision. Even if you manage to "see" those games on your PC, you'd end up with emulated 3D out of a 2D engine.... everything'll be slow and jerky... ergo, unplayable.
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

I've seen SiS6326 as standalone AGP card once - and it was terrible experience :lol:
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Indeed terrible - especially if someone has a 6326 with 60ns EDO-RAM as standalone or OnBoard(M590) .
Some standalone with SDRAM/SGRAM are nice but not very fast .
Format C:
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 9:28 am

I also have one of the SiS cards (or, to be more precise, built-in graphic chip)... I'll have to dissapoint you, but with this graphic chip, you can't play games like Medal of Honor. This chip also makes problems with OpenGL (well, that's my case, because I have SiS 620), but it works fine with Direct3D.
Accomp
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Turin (Italy)
Contact:

Hi

I have an old Sis 6326agp gcard and i have only one question: can i use an old socket7 mainboard with a 32-pins dip bios-eeprom to flash the eeprom of my graphics card "amic A276308A" dip-28-pins using HOT FLASH tecnique ???

Is a dip-28 pin eeprom compatible with a dip 32-pins eeprom ?
Can uniflash support this operation ?

Regards
Accomp
http://acc.hop.to
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

A27 EPROM, not EEPROM. Need an EPROM programmer for that.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

I have this card/chip in an AOpen AX6BC (PII-300).

I posted some test results here, including results from 3DMark 99 MAX. Scroll down a little over half way...
- http://www.stud.fernuni-hagen.de/q39981 ... 0&start=20 -

AOpen 3D Artist PA-50
SiS6326M, 8MB, AGP 2X, 128 bit
5M triangles/sec peak
125M pixels/sec trilinear fill rate
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

SIS has a small TSR utility to overlay the original Video Bios with a newer version - needed for the newer drivers to work
works with all SIS6326 cards either stand-alone (PCI/AGP) or built into motherboards(Pcchips M590 as example)
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Really Denniss - do tell more...

The drivers I'm using from AOpen are -

SiS6326M.drv dated 01-5-99
SiS6326M.vxd dated 12-7-98

Version 4.10.01.1250

My card has a VESA 2.0 BIOS already...link for info on this TSR please??
Accomp
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Turin (Italy)
Contact:

Ty, Edwin


I have the TSR.exe utility (bios version 1.31) , but i can't use it, because Windows ME ignore this tsr loaded in the autoexec.bat....

Do you know a very economic tool to update an eprom ?
.. I have a multimouse , e simple smartmouse programmer used to program pic16f84, pic16f876, AVR processor etc., eeprom 24c16 (using a loader)+ smartmouse a 3.5MHz + gold card in iso slot, sec*a smartc*ard and ir*deto sma*rtcard.

Using an old gold smart car*d with a pic 16f84, can i make a modification in order to connect a 2763 eprom to this pic processor and use a loader to flash this eprom?


Regards
Accomp
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Latest driver is here :
http://driver3.sis.com/graphic/gpu/6326 ... in98me.zip
-> 4.12.01.1320 dated 3/2001

http://driver3.sis.com/graphic/gpu/6326 ... _win2k.zip
-> 4.12.01.1310 dated 6/2000

Bios TSR file maybe needed is here :
http://driver3.sis.com/graphic/gpu/6326/Tsr.exe
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Usually, when I use older VGA cards and manage to find a newer BIOS file for them, I end up going to a shop with an EEPROM programmer and have a new chip programmed. It's not that expensive.
Post Reply