Problem with A8AE-LE bios upgrade

Questions that don't belong in the other forums.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6271
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

I have one report of a failed flash with the 314.bin given to me. Beware. Make sure you use a NEW floppy to avoid errors as much as possible.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
70mustang
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:07 pm

The D: drive (restoration partion) on my pc is FAT32 so it can be accessed from the DOS promp. I recommend using the HD as it is much more reliable than storing the files on a floppy.

Perry
i4ni
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:47 am

edwin wrote:even with the CD route you can make a virtual floppy or ram disk which is read/write and this should work the same way a normal floppy would.
Yeah well... I've given up on this already lol :)
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6271
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

70mustang wrote:The D: drive (restoration partion) on my pc is FAT32 so it can be accessed from the DOS promp. I recommend using the HD as it is much more reliable than storing the files on a floppy.

Perry
If it's a relatively new harddisk, yes. But I have seen too many reports of failed flashes from a harddisk to not 100% believe this is the best method. Whatever the medium you choose, make sure it's not too old and abused...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
70mustang
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:07 pm

You have a point about the age/wear of the media but I would still recommend a HD over a floppy for flashing the BIOS. Were all those failed flashes confirmed to be due to HD failure?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6271
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Yes, either that or bad cabling. In one case a virus.

I have a guaranteed working bios file now:
http://www.wimsbios.com/phpBB2/topic8350.html
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply