M/B from Packard Bell PC

How-to identify your motherboard ?
Post Reply
micd2k2
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2002 1:11 am

I have a Packard Bell Club 400, and ive tried adding a 40GB harddrive to it, but since the bios is so old it wont support a harddrive bigger than 8.4gb i tried the PB website but the idiots have never done an update for this PC, (the bios date on the PC is April 1999 and their update is 1999.

Does anyone know how id beable to update the bios to sup[port harddrives bigger than 8.4gb.

Thanks
micd2k2
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2002 1:11 am

the code on the POST screen is 05/12/1999 SIS-620-2A6ING5AC-00

And in the Bios it has 2A6ING5A

The BIOS is the award bios.
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
micd2k2
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2002 1:11 am

what was the make of the motherboard as the google link comes back sayng it found no search resluts
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

BCM IN620 http://www.bcmcom.com/tech/IN620/IN620.htm

The latest BIOS is:
11/15/1999-SiS-620-2A6ING5AC-00
BIOS VER:1.03 (21102)

It should support HDDs up to 32GB and can be patched up to 128GB.
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
micd2k2
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2002 1:11 am

how do it patch it to support up to 128gb
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

We can patch it for you. What HDD do you want to install?
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
jmstacey
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:36 pm

Ok, I'm here to revive these posts from the dead :lol:
But actually I need the patched bios. I have the in620 and it won't recognize my 40gb Western Digital hd(so thats what I need it patched for) I already tried the untested one but that didn't work
Thanks for the help

-Jon-
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

Jon,
which BIOS did you test ? and what problems did you find ?
What version of BIOS were you using on your board previously?
Can you zip and email it to me ?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

I patched the IN620 one, haven't put it online yet.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

edwin wrote:I patched the IN620 one, haven't put it online yet.
So did I, though I put it online at http://wims.rainbow-software.org/nicks untested, but I don't have a record of why.
NickS
BIOS Bodhisattva
Posts: 3145
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 10:34 am
Location: Thames Valley, UK

@jmstacey: Are you sure the 1.03 BIOS at the site does not support 32GB ? Rainbow's patcher says the Int 13h disk access routines are "new style", so with the cylinder limit jumper on the WD 40GB and the CMOS drive type and translation mode set to Auto/Auto or Auto/LBA the drive should at least be recognised.
Post Reply