Monte Carlo laptop - FPC07003A - Do not know board number.

How-to identify your motherboard ?
Post Reply
Gamzarme
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 5:10 am

Fri Jan 26, 2007 5:45 am

Hey, I'm wondering what the latest BIOS upgrade to my Monte Carlo laptop with the product number of FPC07003A is. It does not display the motherboard number when it is booting up. The latest BIOS version on it as of now is Phoenix NoteBIOS Version 4.04 and Monte Carlo BIOS Version 1.05.

Here is one page I have found on some Monte Carlo laptop information:
http://www.eurocom.ca/support/drivers/old_bios.html

I was looking at the 3420 series, what do you guys think?

-Patrick
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6221
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sat Feb 03, 2007 2:09 pm

The Monte Carlo name is only mentioned at the 5600 series but if you will all due respect want to kill your laptop with a wrong bios, please have a go at it :D

Umm it is an Eurocom laptop? Any brand name on it? Any model number on the bottom sticker?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Gamzarme
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 5:10 am

Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:46 pm

Hey, thanks for you reply. I'll be watching this thread closely.

On the Monte Carlo label on the bottom of the notebook, the product number is FPC07003A and the part number is FPC91-0012-00.

On the Fujitsu label on the bottom of the notebook, the part number is FPC95-0018-01.

Maybe this will help?

-Patrick
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6221
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sat Feb 03, 2007 9:46 pm

Yes, that explains a lot. The Fujitsu Monte Carlo was released with one bios only, for Fujitsu, the system board was specially designed for Fujitsu, we don't even know who built it.

You can find drivers here:
http://support.fujitsupc.com/CS/Portal/ ... =DOWNLOADS

So at least you know what hardware to look for when searching drivers beyond windows 95. But frankly with a pentium 1 at 100MHz I wouldn't try windows 2000/XP on it no matter how much memory you throw at it.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Gamzarme
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 5:10 am

Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:57 pm

Thanks for the information, Edwin. This helps greatly.

I'll not even attempt a BIOS upgrade, now.

For the record, however, Windows 98 seems to function quite nicely on the 100MHz, 40MB of RAM setup that came installed with the laptop.

-Patrick
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6221
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sat Feb 03, 2007 11:26 pm

Yep that is about as far as you can go. From what I see windows 98 SE is already troublesome with some drivers?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply