Is my motherboard a real AOpen product?

How-to identify your motherboard ?
Post Reply
jlwirth
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 6:04 am

Hello,
I am trying to find out if my motherboard is a real AOpen product. I tried to load Win XP pro and had problems after the first shutdown. I contacted MS tech support and was told my BIOS was too old. After opening the case (AOpen Desktop case) I found the following info marked on the board:
AX6BC
98822
48.87878.011
After downloading the user manual, I noticed there were a few differences (electrical components) between my board and the photo of the board in the manual. Also my board does not have the AOpen name printed on it and the BIOS ID doesn't seem valid (all zeros). Here's the BIOS data

BIOS Type: Award Modular BIOS v4.60PGMA
BIOS ID: 12/01/1998-i440BX-00000006C-00
BIOS Revision R2.10T Dec.01.1998

If this is not a real AOpen board, is it too risky to flash the latest AOpen
BIOS anyway? Could I return to the current BIOS if the flashing causes problems?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jeff
soupy
Absentee administrator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:06 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

http://y2k.nstl.com/html/Aopen_y2k_compliant.html

AOpen seems to do that, from the look of it.
Flash your BIOS at your own risk.
jlwirth
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 6:04 am

soupy,

Thanks for the reply. I crossed my fingers and went ahead flashed it to the latest BIOS. Everything went fine. I didn't load the operating system back on yet so I don't know if it's stable but at least I can now boot from CDROM.
Thanks again,
Jeff

:lol: :lol:
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

It is interesting your AX6BC took the AOpen BIOS flash...mine came up with errors and would not begin the flash process...
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Most likely yours is an OEM version for Fujitsu-Siemens then...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Nope...is a true AOpen... AOpen Case, Cards, Power Supply, and all... :mrgreen:

I did have a post on this at one time... BIOS Flash not working ...was left hanging in the Oct. 2002 timeframe. AOpen never replied to my hail to them with anything concrete...

I can't risk flashing it and having it go down, so it is staying as it is until I can get a spare chip and flash to that.
Post Reply