Need to identify this old bios, its a tough one

How-to identify your motherboard ?
Post Reply
davez34
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2002 8:26 pm

here is the bios string
05-X200-000000-00111111-070593-ELP-A


it says ROM BIOS AMERICAN MEGATRENDS 1990

well, this is hard, because in 1990 is when they switched how they did the bios strings.
Anyone willing to help? or give me some basic info, like the specific chipset.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

This is not going to work without a photo. Put a photo/scan online somewhere (yahoo, msn or your homepage) and put a link here.
davez34
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2002 8:26 pm

here is a photo
i hope its clear enough enough
sorry for the reflection :)

Image


THanks
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Photo of the board will help more :D
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
davez34
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2002 8:26 pm

HAHAH, i was a little confused on what was asked for

sorry for the picture quality, this is a bad old digital camera

on the AMIBIOS chip, the yellow sticker says
"AMIBIOS
AMERICAN MEGATRENDS
486SX ISA BIOS (C) 1992
AA0383200"

The two white stickers say
"(C) 1993 Cirrus Logic, Inc
(C) Quadtel Corp."

and
"F41
QC2"


I see two big Vtech chips that say

"Vtech
67-2017-00-20
9330 Z12
Japan"

"Vtech
67-2016-00-20
9330 E08
Japan"

There is a bigchip close to the Bios chip and it says:

"KS83C206Q
332"

The white number printed on the PCB says
"702558B
35-4203-00"

I see a cirrus logic chip, im assumming that is the graphics chip
its labled,

"CIRRUS LOGIC
CL-GD5424-80QC-C
21481-287DP
9335 J
MALAYSIA-A"

Another main chip close to the IDE and floppy drive ports is:
"SMC
FDC37C651QF P
B9332
BOGO81
KOREA"


This board does not have any PCI slots if that helps. It has a daughter board with 6 ISA slots. This board is in a desktop case.

Thanks for your time

here are the pictures

Image
Image
Image
Image
soupy
Absentee administrator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:06 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Daughterboard, integrated video...why does this remind me of a Compaq?

Check here:
http://groups.google.com/groups?q=05-X2 ... .nu&rnum=1
Flash your BIOS at your own risk.
davez34
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2002 8:26 pm

well now that i know this is a vtech motherboard, i can't find a bios anywhere..... great... dead end
thanks for the help though
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

No bios, but I've got a manual for you:
http://service.tandex.com/zips/702558.zip

from this page:
http://service.tandex.com/zips/manual386486based.html

unpack with winzip or similar, view/print with Adobe Acrobat Reader.

I'm not sure what you are looking for in the bios upgrade.
y2k compliance: AMI has a utility that will take care of this
bigger harddisk support: get an add-in card with it's own bios. http://www.promise.com has an ISA card that will allow up to 8.4Gb
faster processors: try http://www.powerleap.com
Post Reply