Old 486 motherboard... want to know manufacturer and model..

How-to identify your motherboard ?
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Hmmm.... QDI, Zida or Pine....
-Jk-
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: Finland

QDI and Zida, yes... but I've never heard about Pine...
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Does it look like this?
Image
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
-Jk-
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: Finland

no. :?



I can probably take a picture of it, but not now. As soon as I can borrow, my bro's digital camera I'll get one. :)
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Rainbow
The UniFlasher
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 4:16 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

edwin wrote:Let's try the TK8881 FA20 then
Heh, that's the same board as my TD-4IP-UMC-AIO (manufacturer unknown, probably ECS).
Patched and tested BIOSes are at http://wims.rainbow-software.org
UniFlash - Flash anything anywhere
-Jk-
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: Finland

edwin wrote:Let's try the TK8881 FA20 then
http://www.elhvb.com/mboards/adi/tk8881/TK8881man.html

Nope. That's not the one either... :?


Damnit, I MUST get a picture of mine...
eki
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:26 pm

I think I have the same board and a picture of it too, but the stupid board
won't let me post an URL to the picture because I created this account just
a few minutes ago. "Your post looks too spamy for a new user, please remove off-site URLs."

Eki
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 758
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 12:14 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

eki, could you try again now posting your link?

Wim
eki
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:26 pm

Thanks Wim! Here it is: http://i.imgur.com/FsmCn.jpg

I actually have no idea if this board works or not. Most of the cache modules are
missing, but I do have a lot of them somewhere and I just have to dig them up.
I also have quite a few 486 CPUs and a lot of memory modules which I can use
to test this board. The only thing I'm missing are the jumper settings :)

Eki
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Does it have ANY other marking/stickers anywhere? What is printed on the backside? I'm hoping for TK-8*** or F4DXP*** in particular...

The safest bet is a 486DX33 as that runs 5V and 33MHz on the bus, should boot if you put in 2x 4MB FPM SIMMs and an ISA video card. That way we have the bios ID string and we _might_ get a bit closer to solving this one.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
eki
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:26 pm

edwin,

The only thing that is printed on the backside of the PCB itself is:

LEI AN 1 94V-0

95 12

and a small sticker that has the manufacturing date and the text
"WARRANTY VOID IF REMOVED"

I will dig up a 486DX-33 to see if I can make it post.

Eki
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Well, we have a bit more info now:
http://www.funkygoods.com/mb/mg_pci486/mg_pci486.htm

Have to find out what language that is though...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Japanese
http://translate.google.nl/translate?sl ... tm&act=url
and we have a bingo for linking MG product to the TK-****-*** series of motherboards.
TK-8880F-4N-D09A
However, the 428021 amibios ID linked to thee boards has been identified as Acer board but also as JBond. And there's one MG product identified as a relabeled PC Chips product. So into the swamp we go...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply