Old 486 motherboard... want to know manufacturer and model..

How-to identify your motherboard ?
-Jk-
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: Finland

Old 486 motherboard... want to know manufacturer and model..

Post by -Jk- » Tue Apr 20, 2004 4:19 pm

Bios: AMI
System BIOS date: 07/25/94
Bios ID String: 41-P001-008021-00101111-072594-UMC880


It's a Socket 3 board with 4 PCI and 4 ISA slots.

Also, "MG Product" can be read on the board...



I've been searching for this for about two years now and I've found NOTHING :?

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Tue Apr 20, 2004 4:37 pm

Our database mentions an MG board as being an ACER 486, but this isn't much help I suppose.

-Jk-
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: Finland

Post by -Jk- » Tue Apr 20, 2004 5:03 pm

When I hear Acer i'm thinking desktop computers with integrated stuff...

My mobo is a standard baby AT 486 mobo. Only thing integrated is the IDE controller.

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Tue Apr 20, 2004 5:10 pm

Do you have a scanner or digital camera? Could you provide a good quality image of it here?

Note: our database also mentioned a PCCHIPS board as being sold as MG. But I was doubtful. I then found a Russian site ( http://www.ase.ee/rus/techsupport/drivers.html ) with an AWARD BIOS for an "MG Product" board (i430VX though), and guess what:
05/27/96-i430VX-2A59Ht5AC-00
...this was indeed a PCCHIPS BIOS.

You might have a very early BIOS release for the M915i, though I'm not too sure:
http://www.stud.fernuni-hagen.de/q39981 ... /m915i.gif

-Jk-
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: Finland

Post by -Jk- » Tue Apr 20, 2004 9:09 pm

I don't have a digital camera myself, but I can probably borrow my bro's.


And that m915i isn't very similar with my board. Mine doesn't have any VLB slots and the ISA slots are black. Also, the CPU socket is turned the other way with the thicker part with the text 'socket 3' is outside of the PCB, like this:

|
|
-|
-| Socket
-|
-|
|
|

As I said, I'll try to take a picture of it. Thanks for the help so far. :)

Edit:

This is probably the closest I have gotten in finding anything about my mobo. The CPU socket is positioned in the same way, but mine is at the bottom, like most other 486 motherboards. This one's also a lot smaller. Mine has got 4 simms, 4 ISA etc...

http://www.funkygoods.com/mb/mg_pci486/mgpci_01.jpg

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Tue Apr 20, 2004 11:58 pm

U.S. Technology is the brand.
MG-486PCI02 is the model, I believe.

Would this bbs post regarding the jumper settings match your board?
here

The hits I found were here: http://groups.google.com/groups?q=%22mg ... gle+Search

-Jk-
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: Finland

Post by -Jk- » Wed Apr 21, 2004 12:15 pm

Very interesting. I'll see if the info is accurate, which I do believe it is. because the anti-static plastic that covers the back of the mobo has 'U.S Technology' on it.


Thanks! :)

-Jk-
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: Finland

Post by -Jk- » Wed Apr 21, 2004 2:46 pm

Well I checked with the jumpers and no, it's not the right one. The jumper settings in the document don't match with the ones on the mainboard... :?

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Wed Apr 21, 2004 3:22 pm

Argh!!! We're getting close, though....

-Jk-
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: Finland

Post by -Jk- » Wed Apr 21, 2004 3:56 pm

Strange thing is that the BIOS ID string that was in the document is the exact same one that is on my mobo. Still, the jumper settings didn't make any sense...

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Wed Apr 21, 2004 4:48 pm

How about this other post here?
http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&l ... tilinja.fi

The jumper numbers are totally different.

-Jk-
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: Finland

Post by -Jk- » Wed Apr 21, 2004 6:07 pm

Hmm... no that's not the one either. That's a Vesa Local Bus mobo. Mine's got only ISA and PCI.


The previous one was more accurate than this one :?

I thought myself that the previous link you gave was the right one, but as I said the jumper settings didn't match for the previous "manual" you posted. For example, it said that the Reset SW connector was on JP31, but on my mobo it is on JP24...


It's like this mobo just doesn't exist... :?



Do you have any idea where I could find info about this 'U.S Technology' manufacturer (or whatever it is)? I've got a Pentium Socket 5 mobo that has 'U.S Technology' on it as well.

ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Post by ajzchips » Wed Apr 21, 2004 6:15 pm

Could you post the full BIOS string of that Pentium mobo?

-Jk-
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: Finland

Post by -Jk- » Wed Apr 21, 2004 6:35 pm

Maybe tomorrow. The thing is lying in a drawer collecting dust right now. It's in fully working condition so I just have to dig out a CPU, some RAM and a display adapter (I'll find all of that in my basement. you won't believe how much computer crap 'I have :D )

-Jk-
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: Finland

Post by -Jk- » Thu Apr 22, 2004 4:52 pm

Ok, here's the BIOS ID for the pentium mobo:

51-0300-428021-00101111-101094-TRITON-H




Intel Triton. w00t :D

Post Reply