VP4-686A-2A5LHIL9C-00 (¿NII-100?) ANY INFO

Request help finding jumper settings or a motherboard manual.
Yagamiar
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 12:49 am

Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:02 am

VP4-686A-2A5LHIL9C-00 (¿NII-100?)

I got this board with a Cyrix MII processor and 1 pci slot no keyboard connector, but 1 serial port 1 lan port and a VGA connector in the mobo, wanna know if there is a way to put a keyboard in this mother
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:44 am

sure about the "2A5LHIL9C" part?
Yagamiar
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 12:49 am

Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:47 am

Yeaps
VP4686A-2A5LHIL9C-00
wtfkng manufacturer code is IL
zonxar
Master Flasher
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 7:26 pm
Location: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

Mon Oct 24, 2005 5:32 am

IL isn't listed in the databases I've seen - any possibility of posting a picture of the motherboard?

:)
Yagamiar
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 12:49 am

Mon Oct 24, 2005 8:25 am

Ok there are in yahoo! photos at
http://photos.yahoo.com/yagamiar

in picture 1 shows a dipswitch, a lan port, a Rs-323 port and something missing who not has been soldered to the mobo...
Pic 2 show the entire motherboard
Pic 3 show the name?? of the mobo(NII-100)
Pic 4 the chipset
Pic 5 the bios number
Pic 6 the screen after the POST

Sorry but not have a decent cam to take the pics, and sorry for my bad english
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:10 pm

Looks like LPX format - where did it come from ?

Please post a new image like your image #5 but with the upper level visible (with Award and energy star Logo, memory/hdd detection.

Sometimes there's a Bios OEM message visible

And/or try Everest home (if system is running) - sometimes these programmers know more.
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Nov 08, 2005 12:46 am

2 network controllers? Is this thing from a router?
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
KURIAKI
Moderator
Posts: 1037
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 9:37 pm
Location: Cancun, Mexico

Tue Nov 08, 2005 1:22 am

Yagamiar wrote:Yeaps
VP4686A-2A5LHIL9C-00
wtfkng manufacturer code is IL
iBase Technology

http://www.ibase-i.com.tw/
More than 100,000 BIOS strings in my database just now!
http:/ /www.kuriaki.has.it/
http:/ /www.supportbios.info
------------------------------------------
Saludos desde Cancun, Mexico
KURIAKI
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Nov 08, 2005 10:21 pm

you never stop to amaze me which is good :lol:
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
KURIAKI
Moderator
Posts: 1037
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 9:37 pm
Location: Cancun, Mexico

Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:06 am

But I have a lot of Award vendor codes without any clue yet.
More than 100,000 BIOS strings in my database just now!
http:/ /www.kuriaki.has.it/
http:/ /www.supportbios.info
------------------------------------------
Saludos desde Cancun, Mexico
KURIAKI
ajzchips
El cheapo dude
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:39 am

Then we're more "clueless" than you are... :wink:
zgamer
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:33 pm

Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:37 pm

Found this post off google trying to do something similar. The motherboard you have is from a Nortel Conectivity 100 VPN Router.

I'm in the process of doing the samething.....basically I have already added the vga connector....if you cut J14....near the cmos battery it will disable the security feature on the board allowing you to run any os on it. Currently I'm running pfsense on mine....http://www.pfsense.org

As I'm trying to run the full version vs the embedded distro I need a keyboard connector to be able to do......however there's another 10-pin header near the pci slot which could be a usb port???.....not sure yet need to do some further research.

As for the iBase reference, iBase made a compact flash reader named "NII-100".

I would assume that they was contracted by one of the Taiwan(back side states made in Taiwan) motherboard makers to make for Nortel probably 5yrs ago(estimate)
zgamer
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:33 pm

Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:55 pm

The port I was playing with doesn't appear to be a usb port.....the 10-pin connector near the pci slot. however, there appears to the blanks for a usb header next to the dip switches on the back of the motherboard.
Kumba
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:17 am

Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:54 am

zgamer wrote:Found this post off google trying to do something similar. The motherboard you have is from a Nortel Conectivity 100 VPN Router.

I'm in the process of doing the samething.....basically I have already added the vga connector....if you cut J14....near the cmos battery it will disable the security feature on the board allowing you to run any os on it. Currently I'm running pfsense on mine....http://www.pfsense.org

As I'm trying to run the full version vs the embedded distro I need a keyboard connector to be able to do......however there's another 10-pin header near the pci slot which could be a usb port???.....not sure yet need to do some further research.
Got mine out of a dead Nortel Baystack Instant Internet 100-S (PSU unit seems to have bit the dust). Had a spare PSU with the right connectors (had to swap a few wires) and got it to boot again, but their firmware is a rather fussy thing. Doesn't like changing the network address for some reason.

Not able to find any manuals on the board itself, so some things I'm not sure about:
  • What the switches labeled SW3 do -- SW2 is marked on the board as altering the CPU Ratio and VCore settings, but nothing for SW3
  • Where J14 is exactly -- am I looking at the tiny trace right above where it says "J14: Watch Dog"? (has the letters 'G' and 'S' near it), or is there some resistor I should be looking for?
  • What kind of ram this thing takes. Most I can get it to accept is what I think is a 256PC133 stick that's only got chips on one side. It tops out at 140MB recognized, though. I'm not sure if that's the BIOS limit, or just Nortel's firmware (can't see the VGA post, so no idea what the bios is seeing)
  • What J11 and J12 do (2-pin and 10-pin jumpers)
  • Oh, and J20, ideas? Has a jumper on it, no identification as to purpose
  • Appears J5 is indeed a USB header spot. Traces appear intact, just a matter of removing the solder and finding a dual USB port unit to put on. I think the one I have on a dead PS2 Mainboard will work nicely.
  • Ideas on what the fastest CPU this puppy can take is? (Have to do some digging on what Socket 7 maxed at).
  • Any tips on getting the VGA connector hooked up right, or pointers to docs indicating what wire color matches up w/ what pin on this thing? (I think this'll work: HD-15 Header Cable, but they nail you on surcharges, heh)
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Aug 23, 2006 10:19 pm

super socket7 maxed out at 550MHz (AMD K6 something). But I'm not sure this baby will take that. It takes lots of power.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply