About Intel Iflash

Discusses BIOS flashers and utilities from Award, AMI and Uniflash
Post Reply
ateneo
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:07 pm

Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:18 am

Im posting again cos i have an Intel D945GCNL board and the Intel Iflash.exe dont update the bios (using the dos method). Previous bios id sting is blank and cannot update cos bios' id dont match.

Well surely my bios is death but i just want to know who makes Intel Bios', it seems this are not AWARD, phoenix, or the other ones.

The thing is that there is not a way to tell iflash.exe to force a bios update. I t could be done cracking it, but i dont program in assembler for DOS for 9 years and i dont want to re-study all that stuff to crack (if i can of course) iflash.exe

who makes this Bios chip .. Intel??
Tiuleasing
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:02 pm

Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:23 pm

I have the exact same mobo D945GCNL & the exact same problem, BIOS ID is blank thus my board becomes effectively unflashable coz the damn flash utility must read the damn BIOS ID before it can proceed which I think is completely crap. Any help?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6224
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:27 pm

if the bios ID is blank I suspect you do not have a retail Intel board but one in a branded machine such as HP/Compaq/Lenovo/eMachines/Packard Bell/Gateway whatever. If you want to force-flash your board you can use the DOSflasher and perform a recovery bios flash. If this is done with a retail bios on an OEM (branded) board, chances are the board is completely dead afterwards so the risk is ENTIRELY yours. Have fun in deciding if it worth the risk.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Tiuleasing
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:02 pm

Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:58 pm

edwin wrote:if the bios ID is blank I suspect you do not have a retail Intel board but one in a branded machine such as HP/Compaq/Lenovo/eMachines/Packard Bell/Gateway whatever. If you want to force-flash your board you can use the DOSflasher and perform a recovery bios flash. If this is done with a retail bios on an OEM (branded) board, chances are the board is completely dead afterwards so the risk is ENTIRELY yours. Have fun in deciding if it worth the risk.
Hi, thx for ur reply. Yes I do have an Intel Desktop original mobo & not the other branded machine model. By "DOSflasher" are u refering to the Intel iFlash utility or is there actually a program called DOSflasher?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6224
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:44 pm

the intel iflash.exe
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Tiuleasing
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:02 pm

Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:30 pm

edwin wrote:the intel iflash.exe
I have tried many times to flash it with iFlash but it says BIOS ID (which is blank) doesn't match the xxxxx.BIO file's BIOS ID thus it doesn't allow me to continue the flash procedure. Is there any options or switches that will let me flash the BIOS without having to check for BIOS ID?
Post Reply