Asus MEB-VM and "Can't find system BIOS' Hook"

Discusses BIOS flashers and utilities from Award, AMI and Uniflash
Post Reply
paranoidandroid
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 11:33 am

lo all

I have this problem on a mobo buyed this past week.
This mobo dont seems to recognize an old hdd ( seagate 10GB ), so i wanted to flash the bios with the 1008 version, which i can find at this page : http://www.asus.com.tw/support/download ... ype=Latest .

When i use the flash utility on this page ( aflash ), launching it, it print this error : "Can't find system BIOS' Hook".

I tried with a pflash.exe ( i think its that one i have to use, cause i have a phoenix bios ) found in the asus ftp, but it gives me the same error.

I dont know how to fix it.

Something that may be important, when i boot i see the HP Logo. SO i have concluded that HP have locked the bios. How to fix it ?

Thx

Sorry for my poor english.
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

HP OEM mainboard - you should use HP Bios as the board might be modified from Asus standard .

With Asus Bios you might have success using Uniflash to flash it
notinthisworld
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 8:58 am

hi i have a similar problem with this manufacturer's board, ASUS.
i have a p4s533-mx (i'm quite positive that it's not OEM). weird thing, i get the same message everytime i load aflash(downloaded from asus). it says "Can't find system BIOS' Hook". then i tried to use awdflash, the programs runs bu it could not load the 1006mx.awd file. any hints guys? thanks.

sliightly OT: can i use uniflash flash eeprom with .awd files? or do i need to look for a .bin file?

God Bless
Denniss
BIOS Guru
Posts: 3153
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:16 pm
Location: Near Hannover (CEBIT) Germany
Contact:

Asus should offer a Flashprog for theses boards, Aflash is for older motherboard types. AFAIR it's named Afudos or similar.
notinthisworld
BIOS Rookie
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 8:58 am

oh no. does this mean i can't flash my bios at this time???
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

http://support.asus.com/technicaldocume ... uage=en-us

afudos can be had from the site as well.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
Post Reply