Award Boot Block BIOS v1.0

Discusses BIOS flashers and utilities from Award, AMI and Uniflash
Post Reply
RashRider
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:07 am

Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:59 pm

Everytime I start my PC I get the following message

Award Boot Block BIOS v1.0
Copyright(c) 2000
Award Software Inc

BIOS ROM checksum error
Detecting floppy drive A media
Drive Media is :1.44Mb
Disk Boot Failure
Insert System Disk and press Enter

I have tried 2 boot frm DOS bootable floppy but no use.
I tried to go to the flash bios website of Award at
but everytime the page loads it asks for username and password.Pls give me the same if u have it.

Pls help me as this is the only pc I have.

Thanks
KachiWachi
The New Guy
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Tue Jul 03, 2007 5:32 pm

What motherboard is installed?
Joecheeze
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 3:37 pm

Mon Jul 09, 2007 3:46 pm

specs/

-EVGA 122-CK-NF63-TR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX

-EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16

-Microsoft Windows Vista 64-Bit Home Premium

-Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6600

-G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel

yup im having same problem here. just got it while in the middle of playing counter strike source. my comp just locked up and had to reboot. then got the check sum error. dont have a floppy drive hooked up as of yet cause thought it was legacy. showd me huh. well any help would be appreciated.
Joecheeze
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 3:37 pm

Tue Jul 10, 2007 3:13 pm

well figured out that my problem was faulty ram. der!!!
Rehbar
BIOS Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:05 am

Fri Oct 12, 2007 8:16 am

please tell your mainboard model and menufacturer.
Kebija
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:44 am

Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:47 am

Same Issues I tried changing out the ram to no avail also tried new cmos batt.

The PC is a Presario s6500nx

I don't see what the mobo is sorry.
cherry
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:06 am

Tue Nov 20, 2007 2:23 am

Kebija wrote:Same Issues I tried changing out the ram to no avail also tried new cmos batt.

The PC is a Presario s6500nx :(

I don't see what the mobo is sorry.
I have same problem with Presarion SR1710NX. While updating some Rogers sotware PC crashed and after reboot came back with beeping. Upon second reboot I've got same message displayed award rom bios 1.0 and checksum error. In my case it recognizes CD. I'we got it to boot following instractions on http://www.biosflash.com/e/bios-boot-cd.htm
However bios update found on compaq support site expects update to be done from windows, so no luck there. Have you found solution ?

Based on the lable on bis chip I have version compaq bios version 3.10 and updated version should be 3.14. Based on screen my bios seems to be gone... ???

Anyone with better luck with compaq bios?
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:15 am

I've sebt you the .bin file. use a recent award flash utility, at least version 8.6
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:21 am

Kebija wrote:Same Issues I tried changing out the ram to no avail also tried new cmos batt.

The PC is a Presario s6500nx

I don't see what the mobo is sorry.
Compaq/HP Kamet2-GL6E = OEM version of Asus A7V8X-LA
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/gene ... =c00063254
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6227
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:21 am

Joecheeze wrote:well figured out that my problem was faulty ram. der!!!
thank you for the info, it may help others...
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
krillin678
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 2:32 am

Wed Mar 24, 2010 2:47 am

Ok here is the deal.

I just got done working with my roommate's asus m2n sli deluxe motherboard. Here is what I have found out.

The boot blook bios v1.0 looks for some pretty specific files and such. The first is whether or not the disk/cd is a bootable disk.(test just autoexec.bat=unknown) It will then look for a program called awdflash.exe , this program is rather easy to find and there are many different versions of it. As far as I know, you can consult your mobo's site to find the right one. Now here is the tricky part, the boot block looks at the autoexec.bat file for instructions for loading awdflash and what .bin file to load. Spent five hours on this... sigh. But here is an example of what the autoexec.bat should look like with out the ">":

>@ECHO OFF
>awdflash xxxx.BIN /py/sn/f/cc/r

ok, so xxxx should be your bios update or reversion.

As a side note, none of asus's bios updates worked at all with the m2n sli deluxe, so I went all the way back to the original shipping bios, and don't forget, back up your freaking bios before you do any updates. It is so annoying going backwards file by file. If this has helped you don't be afriad to post back with your findings also.

Peace
krillin678
Post Reply