bios missing / how can i tell?

Discusses BIOS flashers and utilities from Award, AMI and Uniflash
Post Reply
fierce_monkey
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 9:34 am

this is my first install so any help would be appreciated.

i installed a new motherboard, followed the manual to the letter and, when ready to run the whole kit and kaboodle, cannot get past the screen that tells me what my cpu temperature is currently at and that it says it is checking my ide drives. then it sits for a long time (left it to run a little over an hour before i decided it was best to turn it off).

i guess the question i have is if anyone has an idea of what i did wrong or what is wrong with it?

also, if the motherboard has no bios, how would i go about locating / acquiring one - if that is even possible?

thanks in advance
edwin
The Hardware Archivist
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

cannot get past the screen that tells me what my cpu temperature is currently at and that it says it is checking my ide drives
bios is present.

If it hangs on detecting your drives check if you have any Western Digital disk by its own on a cable. If so, it needs to be set for Single Drive, not Master.
edwin/evasive

Do not assume anything

System error, strike any user to continue...
fierce_monkey
New visitors - please read the rules.
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 9:34 am

thanks for your help. it worked after that little hangup
Post Reply